EOP Home

Staff

Dr. Marcellene Watson-Derbigny
Associate Vice President, Student Retention and Academic Success
Dr, Marcellene Watson
Email: watsonml@csus.edu

Motto: “Success is a lifelong journey of achievement. Don’t let it pass you by.”

College Success Tip: Don’t forget to take notes — you might need the information later.


David Ortega
EOP Admissions Coordinator / Counselor
David Ortega
Email: ortegad@csus.edu

Motto: “Nothing in life is to be feared. It is only to be understood.” – Unknown Author

College Success Tip: Read, read, read!


Vivian Orcasitas Dillon
Leadership Development & SBA Coordinator / Counselor
Vivian Orcasitas Dillon
Email: vodillon@csus.edu

Motto: Happiness does not lie in happiness, but in the achievement of it. – Fyodor Dostoevsky

College Success Tip: The difference between a successful person and others is not a lack of strength, not a lack of knowledge, but rather in a lack of will. - Vince Lombardi


Jerry Blake - “Blake”
EOP Retention Coordinator / Counselor
Jerry Blake - “Blake”
Email: blake@csus.edu

Motto: “"Study hard, stay focused, collect great friends and have fun!"

College Success Tip: You will face many obstacles, just remember to “stay the course”, expect to make sacrifices, and do what you have to do to succeed!


Ricardo Torres
EOP Counselor
Ricardo Torres
Email: torresr@csus.edu

Motto: “You are the best we have. You are all we have. You are what we have become!” – Maya Angelou

College Success Tip: Know what you want.


Sai Xiong
EOP Counselor
Sai Xiong
Email: xiongs@csus.edu

Motto: Live life to the fullest. You are all we have. You are what we have become!”

College Success Tip: Don’t be afraid to ask for help where ever you can get it.


Leticia Perez
EOP Counselor
Leticia Perez
Email: perezl@csus.edu

Motto: "Everything happens for a reason. The lesson we learn from each challenging experience is an opportunity to become wiser."

College Success Tip: Don’t be afraid to ask for help. We were all in your place one day


Paolo Soriano
EOP Counselor
Paolo Soriano
Email: paolo.soriano@csus.edu

Motto: "Be the change you want to see in this world.” ~ Ghandi

College Success Tip: It’s easy to wake up and decide that you will strive to do well with your academic/career endeavors. But the action you take to make it happen is what matters most.


Simon Slak
SAS Counseling Faculty
Simon Slak
Email: slaks@csus.edu

Motto: “The trouble with so many of us is that we underestimate the power of simplicity. We have a tendency it seems to over complicate our lives and forget what’s important and what’s not.”– Robert Stuberg

College Success Tip: Work hard!


Anne Cheng
SASEEP Administrative Analyst / Specialist
Anne Cheng
Email: chenga@csus.edu

Motto: “Today’s Impossible is tomorrow’s Miracle.”

College Success Tip: Just do it!


Lisa Furnas
EOP Administrative Support Coordinator II
Lisa Furnas
Email: lisa.furnas@csus.edu

Motto: “Value yourself, accept responsibility of your educational goals, and be respectful to those helping you along the way.”

College Success Tip: "Enjoy all the opportunities that are available to you as a student! Take part in internships, volunteer work and study abroad programs!"