Advising for Current Students

Couple Walking

Gerontology Advising Policy

All Gerontology majors, minors and graduate students are required to meet with Dr. Osborne once a semester.

Beginning Spring 2013, students who have not attended advising will have a hold placed on their accounts which will prevent them from registering for classes for the following semester. The hold will be removed once advising is completed.

Advising is by appointment. Sign-up sheets are on the bulletin board outside of the Gerontology office, Benicia 1018. Space is limited so please plan ahead and sign up early in the semester.

What to bring to your advising meeting:

*You may choose either individual or group advising sessions, depending on your needs. Due to the limited number of available individual appointments, if you schedule an individual appointment and miss it you'll need to reschedule to a group appointment.

Spring 2014 advising, to prepare for Fall 2014 registration:

Group Advising Sessions:

New Majors and Minors:
In Benicia 1029

  • Thursday, February 13, 3:00 - 4:30
  • Monday, March 17, 3:00 - 4:30
  • Monday, April 7, 3:00 - 4:30
  • Thursday, April 24, 3:00 - 4:30
  • Monday, April 28, 3:00 - 4:30

Planning for Spring 2015 Fieldwork (GERO 130 & 131 Minors)
In Benicia 1014

Please fill out the Preliminary Practicum/Internship Planning Form and bring it with you.

  • Wednesday, April 2, 2:15 - 3:15 & 3:30 - 4:30
  • Tuesday, April 8, 1:00 - 2:00 & 2:15 - 3:15
  • Wednesday, April 9, 3:00 - 4:00
  • Thursday, April 10, 1:30 - 2:30 & 3:00 - 4:00

Continuing Majors and Minors:
In Benicia 1014

  • Thursday, March 6, 2:30 - 3:30 & 3:45 - 4:45
  • Thursday, March 13, 2:30 - 3:30 & 3:45 - 4:45
  • Thursday, March 20, 2:30 - 3:30 & 3:45 - 4:45
  • Wednesday, April 9, 1:30 - 2:30
  • Thursday, April 17, 1:30 - 2:30, 2:45 - 3:45 & 4:00 - 5:00
  • Thursday, May 1, 1:30 - 2:30, 2:45 - 3:45 & 4:00 - 5:00
  • Wednesday, April 23, 2:30 - 3:30 & 3:45 - 4:45
  • Wednesday, May 7, 1:30 - 2:30 & 2:45 - 3:45
  • Thursday, May 8, 1:30 - 2:30

Individual Advising:

In Benicia 1020, 20 minute appointments between 9:30 and 11:30

  • Thursday, February 13
  • Thursday, February 20
  • Thursday, February 27
  • Thursday, March 13
  • Thursday, March 20
  • Thursday, April 10
  • Thursday, April 17
  • Thursday, April 24
  • Thursday, May 8
  • Thursday, May 15

4 Year Graduation Plan


Transfer Graduation Plan


Advising At-a-Glance


Other Resources:

My Sac State Register for your courses and find useful campus resources.
CSUS Catalog Contains the most up -to-date information about our programs.
Class Schedule For current course listings.
Expected Course Offerings Tentative list of Fall 2014 and Spring 2015 courses for the GERO major and minor.
Course Planning Guide & Sample Schedules A form helpful for course planning, and sample part-time and full-time schedules for the completion of the major.