# 2015-2016 Faculty Senate



# **FACULTY SENATE MEETING** Minutes of the Meeting of February 4, 2016

Foothill Suite, University Union Approved: February 11, 2016

# **Call to Order**

The Senate was called to order at 3:05 pm.

## **Roll Call**

The Senate Analyst called roll: Arts & Letters: Bayne, L (absent); Buffard, N, Dym, J; Gibbs, C (absent); Heather, J; Kennedy, D; Lee, H; Ludwig, M; McCormick, M; Miller, C; Stark, H; Turrill, C Business Administration: Lin, E; Michael, B; Wheeler, S; Wilson, M; Education: Coughlin, M (alternate); Gonzalez, A; Holland, M; Lilly, F; Porter, J (absent); Sessoms. D Engineering and Computer Science: Anderson, M (absent); Jin, Y; Khan, G; Vaziri, M; Zhou, D Health and Human Services: Antonyappan, J; Brady, D; Escobar, S; Hagge, D; Loving, R; MacLeod, T; Pinch, K; Sharpp, T; Smith, M (absent) Natural Sciences and Mathematics: Diaz, R; Ingram, J; McCarthy-Hintz, M; Rechs, A; Schmidtlein, M; Skinner, S (absent); Taylor, C Social Sciences and Interdisciplinary Studies: Akutsu, P; Green, R; Hana, L; Hertzoff, A; Jez, S; Josephson, T (absent); Popejoy, G; Varano, C; Wang, T, Zeanah, D University Library: Paganelis, G Intercollegiate Athletics: Solario, R (absent) Temporary Faculty: Boulgarides, L; Cyrenne, D; Radican, L (absent) Student Services: Franco, A (absent); Richards, J Faculty Senate Chair: Bowie, S Associated Students, Inc.: Caruso, T California State University, Sacramento Retiree Association: Buckley, B CSUS Academic Senators: Holl, S; Krabacher, T

## **MOMENT OF SILENCE**

Juliana Raskauskas, Faculty

Undergraduate Studies in Education (EDU)

## **INFORMATION**

### FYI:

- <u>2015-16 John C. Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture</u> *"Higher Education Innovation Meets the Mash-Up" Presented by Dr. Christine Miller, Communication Studies (A&L)* Tuesday, February 16, 3 pm, University Union, Redwood Room
- <u>2015-2016 Faculty Endowment for Student Scholarships Award Recipients</u> <u>Awards Ceremony</u>: Thursday, February 18, 3:30 pm, University Union, Foothill Suite
- 2015 2016 Outstanding Faculty Awards Recipients <u>Save the Date:</u> Outstanding Faculty Awards Ceremony and Reception Thursday, March 17, 3 pm, University Union, Redwood Room

#### **Outstanding Teaching Awards**

Bryan Coleman-Salgado, Physical Therapy (HHS) Ghazan Khan, Civil Engineering (ECS) Vera Margoniner, Physics and Astronomy (NSM) Roberto Pomo, Theatre and Dance (A&L) Kristin Van Gaasbeck, Economics (SSIS) William Vicars, Undergraduate Studies in Education (EDU)

#### **Outstanding University Service Awards**

Sue Escobar, Criminal Justice (HHS) Ben Fell, Civil Engineering (ECS) Ana Garcia-Nevarez, Undergraduate Studies in Education (EDU) Enid Gonzalez-Orta, Biological Sciences (NSM) Greg Kim-Ju, Psychology (SSIS) Mark Ludwig, Communication Studies (A&L)

#### **Outstanding Scholarly and Creative Activity Awards**

Barbara Carle, World Languages and Literatures (A&L) Lisa Hammersley, Geology (NSM) Katrin Mattern-Baxter, Physical Therapy (HHS) Carlos Nevarez, Educational Leadership (EDU) James Rae, Government (SSIS) Sudhir Thakur, Finance Area (CBA) Joe Zhou, Reference Department (LIB)

#### **Outstanding Community Service Awards**

William DeGraffenreid, Physics and Astronomy (NSM) Susan Heredia, Graduate and Professional Studies in Education (EDU) Sujatha Moni, Women's Studies (SSIS) Celeste Roseberry-McKibbin, Speech Pathology and Audiology (HHS) Jenny Stark, Communication Studies (A&L)

#### <u>Call – Faculty Representatives to serve on the Associate Vice President for Financial</u> <u>Services Search Committee</u>

- <u>Call Faculty Representatives to serve on the Dean of the College of Continuing Education</u> <u>Selection Advisory Committee</u>
- President Action Memos for Senate Actions of:
  - <u>September 17, 2015</u>
  - <u>October 1, 2015</u>
  - <u>October 15, 2015</u>
  - <u>November 5, 2015</u>
  - <u>November 12, 2015</u>
  - <u>December 3, 2015</u>
  - <u>December 10, 2015</u>
- CSU Academic Senate Plenary, January 21-22, 2016
  - Executive Summary of Resolutions Attachment
  - Individual resolutions acted on by the ASCSU

#### February – Faculty Senate Meetings

- February 4: Regular Senate meeting
- **February 11**: The meeting on February 11 will have a time certain of 3:45 pm for the search firm of Witt/ Keiffer working with the campus on the Provost search to have dialogue with the faculty community about the kind of person we are looking to recruit. The members of the search committee will also be present to hear and appreciate the sentiments as expressed by the faculty, staff and students.
- February 18: Regular Senate meeting
- Nursing Impaction Notice and Reapplication Attachment: FS 15/16-101
- CTL Faculty Learning Communities and the Developing Hispanic Serving Institution Project: INSPIRE Peer Network Event: Presented by Lynn Tashiro, Enid Gonzalez-Orta, Tina Jordan, and Bridget Parish

#### **APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA**

The agenda was approved as published.

# **ACTION ITEMS**

# FS 15/16-90/EXUniversity Search CommitteeProvost and Vice President of Academic Affairs

The Faculty Senate recommends the appointment of the following four faculty members to serve on the Search Committee for the Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs.

- 1. Christine Miller, Communication Studies (A&L)
- 2. Jia Joon "Jay" Lee, Marketing and Chair Supply Management (CBA)
- 3. Ernest Uwazie, Criminal Justice (HHS)
- 4. Linda Roberts, Chemistry (NSM)

Carried.

#### **FS 15/16-92 UARTP/EX** UARTP Policy – Amendments Incorporating Policy Changes Worked by the 2014-2017 CFA-CSU Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA)

The Faculty Senate recommends amendment of the sections of the UARTP Policy to Incorporate Policy changes worked by the 2014-2017 CFA-CSU Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA).

LaRocco to Bowie, January 12, 2016 Attachment: FS 15/16-92a

Carried.

## **UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES APPOINTMENTS**

FS 15/16-91/EX University Committee Hornet Honor Code Task Force

The Faculty Senate recommends the appointment of the following faculty member to the Hornet Honor Code Task Force.

• Kyle Swan, Philosophy (A&L)

Carried.

FS 15/16-98/EX University Committee Grade Appeal Panels

The Faculty Senate recommends the appointment of the following faculty member to serve on the Grade Appeal Panels. The appointment is to fill the remainder of Professor Wickelgren's term, who has been appointed as the Grade Appeal Manager.

Julie Kuehl Kitchen, Kinesiology and Health Science (HHS) – Term: February through May 2016

Carried.

#### FS 15/16-99/EX University Committee Diversity Task Force

The Faculty Senate recommends the appointment of the following faculty member to serve on the Diversity Task Force for Spring semester 2016. The appointment is to fill a vacancy due to a member being on sabbatical.

Mary McCarthy, Chemistry (NSM) – Term: February through May 2016

Carried.

#### FS 15/16-100/EX University Committee University Sustainability Steering Committee

The Faculty Senate recommends the appointment of the following faculty member to serve on the University Sustainability Steering Committee.

Tim Marbach, Mechanical Engineering (ECS) – Term: February through December 2016

Carried.

# **Minutes**

#### <u>FS 15/16-93/EX</u> Minutes – December 10, 2015

The Faculty Senate approves the meeting minutes of December 10, 2015.

The following items received a First Reading and will be placed on a future Faculty Senate agenda at Second Reading.

<u>FS 15/16-94/UARTP/EX</u>	UARTP Policy – amendments of Section 6.06 Probationary Appointments and Section 6.08 Appointment to a Faculty Position with the Duties of Department Chair, Amendment Of
<u>FS 15/16-95/EX</u>	Field Trip Policy, Establishment Of
FS 15/16-96/GSPC/EX	Duplicate Graduate Degrees Policy, Establishment Of

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting was adjourned at 4:22 pm.