Curriculum Policies Committee (CPC)

Committee Info

Committee Chair:
Ben Fell
Meetings: 1st and 3rd Tuesdays 
1:30-2:50 pm, SAC 275

Committee Membership
2014-15 Agendas & Minutes

The Curriculum Policies Committee is a standing Policy Committee of the Faculty Senate, responsible for the development of policy and oversight of curriculum at California State University, Sacramento. 
(FS 11-12/100/SEL: Amends FS 09-11B/EX and AS 94-98A)

Subcommittees that report to CPC


A) The Committee is responsible for the review and revision of policies related to and affecting the curriculum – including at both the Undergraduate and Graduate levels.  

B) The Committee is responsible for matters pertaining to the development, review, and sustainability of the curriculum at CSUS including the course and program approval process, the assessment of existing courses and programs, the relationship between curriculum and pedagogy, and other matters as deemed necessary by the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate. 


Voting members shall include: 11 faculty members appointed by the Faculty Senate to a three year term, including one faculty member from the Library or Student Services Professionals-Academically Related units; and ten College-based faculty members.  More than one member may be from a single college but no two members may be from the same department/unit.  Every effort shall be made to encourage membership from each college. 

Non-voting members shall include: one staff member appointed by the University Staff Assembly to a two year term; at least one, but no more than two, students appointed by ASI to a one year term; ex-officio members of the administration as specified in each Policy Committee charge; and the Faculty Senate Chair.



A) The Chair of each Policy Committee shall be elected annually by the Faculty Senate as described in the By-Laws of the Faculty Senate.  The Committee Chair shall be included in the count of the 11 voting members.

B) The term of office of a the Curriculum Policy Committee Chair shall be one year. The term shall begin at noon on the last day of the spring semester in which s/he is elected Chair and shall end at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the following year. 

C) A faculty member may be elected to serve up to three consecutive terms of one year each as the Chair of the Curriculum Policies Committee. After an interval of one year following the end of the third consecutive term, the faculty member shall become eligible for election to the Chair of the Committee.

D) The Curriculum Policies Committee Chair shall also serve as an ex-officio non-voting member of the Faculty Senate, unless concurrently serving as the elected representative of his or her department/unit.

E) The Curriculum Policies Committee Chair shall also serve as a voting member of the Executive Committee.

Vice Chair

A) At its first meeting of the academic year, the Curriculum Policies Committee shall elect, from among its voting membership, a Vice Chair and any other committee officers deemed appropriate.

B) The Vice Chair shall preside over the routine business of a Policy Committee in the absence of the Committee Chair or, should the office of the Curriculum Policies Committee Chair become vacant, until the election of a new Committee Chair; the Curriculum Policies Committee Vice Chair shall not serve as an ex-officio member of the Senate or its Executive Committee.

Subcommittees that report to the Curriculum Policies Committee


A) The Committee shall work in close coordination with other Faculty Senate Policy Committees and other Senate and University committees/subcommittees in the performance of its duties.

B) Issues considered by the committee may be referred as well by the Executive Committee to any of the other committees of the Faculty Senate.  The committee may similarly refer issues to other Senate committees through the Executive Committee.

C) The Committee shall meet at least once a month at a designated time and place.

D) A quorum of the Committee shall require the presence of at least six voting members.  The Committee shall not act in the absence of a quorum.

E) Committee meetings shall be open to the university community.

F) The meeting agenda and supporting documentation shall be distributed to Committee members at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.

G) Committee agendas shall normally be published and made accessible to the campus community at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.  Minutes shall also be published and made accessible to the campus community in a timely manner.