Skip to Content
Center for California Studies
Page Title: California StudiesCapital and Award Presentation

California Journalism Awards

The California Journalism Awards were established in 1994 by the Center for California Studies to encourage and acknowledge outstanding media coverage of California state government, policy, or issues. This year, in conjunction with our 2014 Envisioning California Conference Moving On: Transforming Transportation in California, we are seeking submissions on the topic of transportation. Submissions may include (but are not limited to) the coverage of: infrastructure, alternative technologies and fuels, public transportation, the environmental impact of transportation, and more.

Submission criteria: Any journalist, full-time, part-time or freelance, whose work was published, broadcast, or transmitted in California for the first time from July 2013 to July 2014. Single pieces or series up to five pieces accepted.

2014 California Journalism Awards - WINNERS!

2014 California Journalism Awards Finalists

Winners announced October 3, 2014

call for entries

California Journalism Award Past Recipients

2013 Award Recipients

For Excellence in Print Reporting: Sandra Duerr, The Tribune, San Luis Obispo, Wine and Water: Deep Trouble

For Excellence in Blog Reporting: Clare Leschin-Hoar,,, a Participant Media website that draws 4+ million visitors a month (Article 1) (Article 2) (Article 3) (Article 4) (Article 5)

For Excellence in Radio Reporting: Sasha Khokha & Grace Rubenstein, KQED and the Center for Investigative Reporting, Farmworkers Face Rape (Article 1) (Article2) (Article 3) (Article 4)

For Excellence in TV Reporting: David Bienick & Mike Carroll, KCRA TV 3, Hops Make a Comeback

For Excellence in Photojournalism: Chris Riley, Vallejo Times-Herald, Food for Thought

Katharine M. Macdonald Student Award: Samantha Lynn, The Stanford Daily, New mobile food vendor policy drives Net Appetit off campus (Article 1) (Article 2) (Article 3)

2012 Award Recipients

For Excellence in Blog Reporting: GOP Latino Fail: Party Ignored Stu Spencer's Advice By Jerry Roberts & Phil Trounstine, Calbuzz
For Excellence in Print-Daily Coverage: High-risk Calif parolees unsupervised By Don Thompson, Gillian Flaccus, Greg Risling & Thomas Watkins, Associated Press
For Excellence in Print-Special Feature/ Enterprise Reporting:  Dental program proves painfulBy Jocelyn Wiener & Emily Bazar, CHCF Center for Health Reporting
For Excellence in Photojournalism (series): Occupy Oakland Shooting & Manali Baby Birth By Jane Tyska; The Oakland Tribune
For Excellence in Photojournalism (single): Keeping the Peace By Chris Riley, Vallejo Times-Herald
For Excellence in Radio Reporting: Children Left Behind: California’s Foster Care Crisis By Doug Sovern, KCBS 
For Excellence in Television Reporting: Walmart Investigation By Kurtis Ming, Brei Baar, Kenny Holmes, Dennis Lopez, & Peter Roney, KOVR CBS13
For Excellence in Student Reporting: Slaughterhouse Shortage Stunting Area’s Eat-Local Movement By David Ferry, The New York Times-The Bay Citizen

2011 Award Recipients

For Excellence in Print-Special Feature/Enterprise Reporting: Laura Mahoney, BNA Daily Tax Report

For Excellence in Print-Daily Coverage: Judy Lin, Associated Press

For Excellence in Radio Reporting: John Myers, KQED

For Excellence in Television Reporting: Kelly Peterson, KVIE

For Excellence in Blog Reporting:: Torey Van Oot, The Sacramento Bee

For Excellence in Student Reporting, Katherine M. Macdonald Award: Megan Baier, California Health Report







| About the Center | Capital Fellows Program | Civic Education | Government Research and Affairs | California Studies | Upcoming Events | Californiana Newsletter
© Center for California Studies, California State University Sacramento. All rights reserved. If you have difficulty accessing content on this page, please contact the webmaster.
Website design by NetPilot Web Solutions