jump to contentsacramento state - leadership begins here
sac state homeadmissionsabout sac stategiving a giftsite indexcontact us
About the Center
Fellowships & Internships
Capital Fellows Alumni
Civic Education
The LegiSchool Project
Government Affairs
California Studies
What's New!
Upcoming and Past Events
Site Map

Seventh Annual California Journalism Awards

The Center for California Studies at California State University, Sacramento (Sacramento State) is pleased to announce the winners of the Seventh Annual California Journalism Awards and Katharine M. Macdonald Award on March 1, 2001.

Established in 1994, the California Journalism Awards recognize excellence in reporting on California State government and politics. This year the center gave awards in four categories: The John Jacobs Award for excellence in daily coverage, and special feature or enterprise reporting; Radio Journalism Award for excellence in radio reporting; and the Television Journalism Award for excellence in television reporting--A cash prize of $500 accompanied each of these awards. A fourth category, the Macdonald Award, was given to a student journalist and was also award a $300 cash prize.

  • For Print (Special Feature/Enterprise Reporting)
    Daniel Weintraub, Orange County Register

  • For Print (Daily Coverage)
    Jim Sweeney, Union Tribune, San Diego

  • For Radio (Special Feature/Enterprise Reporting)
    Ellen CiurczakThe California Report, KQED, San Francisco

  • Radio (Daily Coverage)
    Aaron Glantz, KPFA, Berkeley

  • For Television (Special Feature/Enterprise Reporting)
    Randy Paige, KCBS, Los Angeles

  • Television (Daily Coverage)
    Kevin Riggs, KCRA,Sacramento

  • For the Katherine M. Macdonald Award for Student Journalism
    Virginia Sellers-Erxleben, The Collegian, CSU, Fresno