jump to contentsacramento state - leadership begins here
sac state homeadmissionsabout sac stategiving a giftsite indexcontact us
About the Center
Fellowships & Internships
Capital Fellows Alumni
Civic Education
The LegiSchool Project
Government Affairs
California Studies
What's New!
Upcoming and Past Events
Site Map

Eighth Annual California Journalism Awards

The Center for California Studies at California State University, Sacramento (Sacramento State) is pleased to announce the winners of the Eighth Annual California Journalism Awards and Katharine M. Macdonald Award on February 26, 2002.

Established in 1994, the California Journalism Awards recognize excellence in reporting on California State government and politics. This year the center gave awards in four categories: The John Jacobs Award for excellence in daily coverage, and special feature or enterprise reporting; Radio Journalism Award for excellence in radio reporting; and the Television Journalism Award for excellence in television reporting--A cash prize of $500 accompanied each of these awards. A fourth category, the Macdonald Award, was given to a student journalist and was also award a $300 cash prize.

Lou Cannon, a longtime political reporter and White House correspondent for the Washington Post, was honored with a lifetime achievement award. This is only the second time that such an award has been given by the Center for California Studies. Following the presentation of the lifetime achievement award, other honorees were presented with journalism awards in their given field.

  • For Print (Special Feature/Enterprise Reporting)
    Jill Tucker, The Oakland Tribune

  • For Print (Daily Coverage)
    David Lazarus, The San Francisco Chronicle

  • For Radio
    Scott Shafter, KQED, the California Report, San Francisco

  • For Television
    Randy ShandobilKTVU Fox 2, San Francisco/Oakland

  • For the Katherine M. Macdonald Award for Student Journalism
    Julian Foley, UC, Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism