jump to contentsacramento state - leadership begins here
sac state homeadmissionsabout sac stategiving a giftsite indexcontact us
About the Center
Fellowships & Internships
Capital Fellows Alumni
Civic Education
The LegiSchool Project
Government Affairs
California Studies
What's New!
Upcoming and Past Events
Site Map

Ninth Annual California Journalism Awards

The Center for California Studies at California State University, Sacramento (Sacramento State) is pleased to announce the winners of the Ninth Annual California Journalism Awards and Katharine M. Macdonald Award.

Established in 1994, the California Journalism Awards recognize excellence in reporting on California State government and politics.This year the center will give awards in four categories: The John Jacobs Award for excellence in daily coverage, and special feature or enterprise reporting; Radio Journalism Award for excellence in radio reporting; and the Television Journalism Award for excellence in television reporting--A cash prize of $500 will accompany each of these awards. A fourth category, the Macdonald Award, will be given to a student journalist and will be accompanied by a $300 prize.

Journalists may enter themselves or be nominated by someone else. An entry is defined as a story or a program about state government or politics in California for all awards. Entries can be a single story or program, or two or more stories or programs representative of the journalist's body of work.

  • The John Jacobs Award, for print special feature/enterprise reporting: Kimberly Kinday, Jenifer B. McKim, Natalya Shulyakovskaya, and Tony Saavedra, The Orange County Register, who conducted a year-long investigation on child-care homes and centers. They found that children are increasingly placed in danger because of lax enforcement of state regulations and failure to track child-care workers.

  • The John Jacobs Award, for print daily coverage: Carla Marinucci and Lance Williams, The San Francisco Chronicle, covered the 2002 governor’s race and they broke a series of important stories that held up the records and backgrounds of the contenders to rigorous scrutiny.

  • For excellence in radio reporting: Ina Jaffe, NPR’s “Morning Edition,” entry on Ten Years after the Riots: The Decline of Black Political Power in Los Angeles.

  • For excellence in television reporting: Randy Shandobil, KTVU Fox 2 in San Francisco/Oakland, and Robbi Peele, Joe Riordan, Hank Plante, and Rick Villaroman KPIX TV-CBS

  • The Katharine M. Macdonald Award, for excellence in student journalism: Jon Ortiz, a student at California State University, Sacramento, who interned at the Los Angeles Times Sacramento Bureau, wrote a piece on Proposition 51’s diversion of auto sales taxes to causes that benefit special interest.

For more information about the California Journalism Awards and/or the conference and dinner please contact:

The Center for California Studies
California State University, Sacramento
(916) 278-6906
(916) 278-5199 (fax)