Teaching Credentials

The Spring 2017 application period is currently open.

Teachers in California's public schools enter a complex world where half of the students come from low income families and more than 25% are learning English as their second language. Research shows that students who have two consecutive years with an effective teacher experience success as learners, regardless of factors like poverty and English proficiency. You could be that teacher who changes children's lives! Read on to learn more about our credential programs: multiple subject (K-8), single subject (7-12, Art, English/Language Arts, History/Social Science, Home Economics, Mathematics, Music, Physical Education, Science and World Languages), and education specialist (mild/moderate disabilities, mild/moderate disabilities and multiple subject, moderate/severe disabilities, moderate/severe disabilities and multiple subject, early childhood special education).


Multiple Subject Credentials 
The Multiple Subject Teaching Credential authorizes the holder to teach all subjects in a self-contained classroom, such as the classrooms in most elementary schools (grades K-8).

Single Subject Credentials 
The Single Subject Teaching Credential authorizes the holder to teach the specific subject(s) named on the credential in departmentalized classes, such as those in most middle schools and high schools.

Education Specialist Credentials 
The Education Specialist Instruction credential programs authorize the holder to teach in the following disability areas of specialization: Mild/Moderate Disabilities, Moderate/Severe Disabilities, or Early Childhood Special Education. All specializations include the Autism Spectrum Disorder authorization and the English Learner authorization.

Other Credentials and Authorizations
Sacramento State offers several California Teaching Commission approved credentials or authorizations outside the College of Education.