Les Blancs

Written by Lorraine Hansberry 

Co-Directed by College of Arts and Letters Associate Dean Melinda Wilson Ramey and guest artist Lisa Thew.

March 7- 18, 2018

Playwrights' Theatre, Shasta Hall

6000 J Street
Sacramento, CA 95819

Best American play of 1970, Les Blancs prophetically confronts the hope and tragedy of Africa in revolution. The setting is a white Christian mission in a colony about to explode. The time is that hour of reckoning when no one the guilty nor the innocent can evade the consequences of white colonialism and imperatives of black liberation. Tshembe Matoseh, the English educated son of a chief, has come home to bury his father. He finds his teenage brother a near alcoholic and his older brother a priest and traitor to his people. Forswearing politics and wanting only to return to his wife and child in England, Tshembe is drawn into the conflict symbolized by a woman dancer, the powerful Spirit of Africa who pursues him. 

 Buy Tickets

 

 

General Admission

Sac State Students, Seniors (60+), SARTA

Children
(2-12)

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

8:00 pm

 $18

 $15

 $12

Thursday, March 8, 2018

8:00 pm

 $18

 $15

 $12

Friday, March 9, 2018

8:00 pm

 $18

 $15

$12

Saturday, March 10, 2018

8:00 pm

 $18

 $15

$12

Sunday, March 11, 2018

2:00 pm

 $18

 $15

$12

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

6:30 pm

$15

$12

$10

Thursday, March 15, 2018

6:30 pm

$15

$12

$10

Friday,March 16, 2018

8:00 pm

 $18

 $15

$12

Saturday, March 17, 2018

8:00 pm

 $18

 $15

$12

Sunday, March 18, 2018

2:00 pm

 $18

 $15

$12

Please go to www.csus.edu/HornetTickets to purchase tickets.