Department Faculty and Staff

Department Staff:

Geraldine Nicholson Photo

Geraldine NicholsonAdministrative Support Coordinator II
SLN 4000A | (916) 278-3866 | geraldine.nicholson@csus.edu
Office hours: 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Geraldine Nicholson Photo

Maggie HansenAdministrative Support Assistant II
SLN 4000 | (916) 278-6752 | margaret.hansen@csus.edu
Office hours: 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Department Fax: (916) 278-5053

Department Faculty:

Link to Faculty Office Hours

Full-Time Faculty

Dr. Beth Erickson
Professor | SLN 5024 | (916) 278-2816 | erickson@csus.edu
Community Recreation Management
Internship Coordinator

Dr. Jamie Hoffman, CTRS
Assistant Professor | SLN 4012 | (916) 278-5021 | jamie.hoffman@csus.edu
Recreation Therapy Advisor & Coordinator

Dr. Lisa Easterla
Associate Professor | SLN 4006 | lisa.easterla@csus.edu
Recreation Majors Association Advisor
Outreach Coordinator

Dr. Dana Kivel
Professor | LIB 4028| (916) 278-4769 | bkivel@csus.edu
Community Recreation Management
Interim Director, Community Engagement Center

Katherine Martinez, M.S.
Lecturer | SLN 4011 | (916) 813-0815 |leisurerules@csus.edu

Dr. Katherine Pinch
Professor | SLN 4016 | (916) 278-6880 | pinch@csus.edu
Park and Recreation Resource Management
Graduate Coordinator

Dr. David Rolloff
Professor | SLN 4046 | rolloff@csus.edu
Park and Recreation Resource Management

Dr. Greg Shaw
Department Chair & Associate Professor | SLN 4000B | (916) 278-2936 | shaw@csus.edu
Commercial Recreation, Tourism and Hospitality Management
RPTA Minor Advisor 

Dr. Tony Sheppard
Professor | SLN 4014 | tony@csus.edu
Commercial Recreation, Tourism and Hospitality Management


Emeritus Faculty


Dr. Ernest G. Olson
Professor Emeritus | SLN 4007 | olsoneg@csus.edu

Dr. Ernest G. Olson holds a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana.  He began his teaching career at California State University, Sacramento in 1978, following a teaching assignment at the University of Illinois and then San Diego State University.  In 2000 he was selected as the Outstanding Professor from the College of Health and Human Services.  He is the author of numerous articles and several books including Personal Growth and Development Through Leisure (Kendall-Hunt), Perspectives on Leisure (Kendall Hunt), and Finding the Calm Within:  How Leisure Can Help You Hang Loose in an Uptight World (Leisure Doc Publications).  He is a member of Phi Kappa Phi, the National Honor Society, and World Leisure Organization.  He is knowledgeable in Mandarin Chinese and active in international education.


Part-Time Faculty


Arlene Krause, M.S., CTRS

Lecturer
| SLN 4020 | krausea@csus.edu
Recreation Therapy
Adjunct Faculty, Gerontology Department, American River College

Catharine Bening Stadler, M.S.
Lecturer | SLN 4009 | cbening@saclink.csus.edu

Andre Pichly, M.S., CPRP
Lecturer
| SLN 4009 | apichly@saclink.csus.edu
Superintendent of Recreation, City of West Sacramento Parks and Recreation

Terri Webster Schrandt, M.S.

Lecturer | SLN 4005 | tam92@saclink.csus.edu
Aquatics and Adult Sports Supervisor, City of Sacramento Department of Parks and Recreation

Hunter Merritt, M.S.
Lecturer | SLN 4013 | hmerritt@saclink.csus.edu
Study Manager, USACE Sacramento District Planning Division, Water Resources Branch

Jael Young, M.S.
Lecturer | Peak Adventures, The WELL | jael@csus.edu
Director, ASI Peak Adventures

Sal Arrigo, M.S.
Lecturer | SLN 4013 | sarrigo@csus.edu
Adjunct Faculty, Gerontology Department, American River College
Founder, Fab 40's 5k Run/Walk to Benefit the Alzheimer's Association
Feature Writer, Messenger Publishing Group

Token Barnthouse
Lecturer |
Morale, Welfare and Recreation Director, Naval Air Station, Fallon, Nevada

Tamica Clement, M.S., CTRS
Lecturer | SLN 4030 | tamica.clement-moor@csus.edu
Recreation Therapist, State of California Corrections
Owner, Moore Recreation Therapy and Consulting

Lindsey Dao, B.S., CTRS
Lecturer | SLN 4030 | dao@csus.edu
Lead Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist, Sutter Center for Psychiatry

Jason DeWall, M.S.
Lecturer
| SLN 4007 | jason.dewall@csus.edu

Jon Erickson, M.S.
Lecturer
| SLN 5024 | j.erickson@csus.edu

Cole Forstedt, M.S.
Lecturer
| SLN 4009 | cole.forstedt@csus.edu

Cara Hoyt, M.S.
Lecturer
| SLN 4028 | choyt@saclink.csus.edu

Bina Lefkovitz, M.S.
Lecturer
| SLN 4030 | leftkovitz@csus.edu

Tad Mackey, M.S.
Lecturer | SLN 4005 | tmackey@csus.edu
Recreation Aide, Therapeutic Recreation Services

Troy Nichols, M.S.
Lecturer
| SLN 4007 | troy.nichols@csus.edu

Rebecca Niles, M.S.
Lecturer | SLN 4009 | rebecca.niles@csus.edu

William Reliford, Jr., M.S.
Lecturer | (online only) | william.relifordjr@csus.edu
Youth Enrichment Program Operations Supervisor, Hayward Unified School District

Alyssa Rose, M.S., CTRS
Lecturer | SLN 4032 | alyssa.rose@csus.edu

Todd Sebastian, CPRP
Lecturer | The WELL, Room 1112 | tsebast@saclink.csus.edu
Assistant Director, Special Events & Informal Recreation at The WELL
Co-Owner and Forman of Festivities, Off The Chain Bike Bus Tours
Principal Consultant, KTS Business Services, Inc.

Chris Shannon, M.S.
Lecturer| SLN 4007 | christopher.shannon@csus.edu

Mark Spring, J.D.
Lecturer | SLN 4005 | mark.spring@csus.edu

Mandy Taylor, MSW
Lecturer | SLN 4032 | amanda.taylor@csus.edu


Kenneth Williams, M.Ed.
Lecturer | The WELL, Room 1118 | kenneth.williams@csus.edu
Coordinator, Climbing Wall and Group Facilitation at The WELL

Jenn Wilson, CTRS
Intern Supervisor - Recreation Therapy

General Department Contact Information

Main Office location and phone number
SLN 4000 | (916) 278-6752

Department Fax:
(916) 278-5053

You may contact the department's main office phone number during normal business hours, 8:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.  Someone will return your call at their earliest convenience.  

* Please note that advising visits should be made during faculty office hours (posted in the lobby each semester). Faculty members periodically change office hours due to scheduling conflicts.