Email: rpta@csus.edu | Main Office: Solano Hall 4000 | Phone: (916) 278-6752

Department Faculty

(For current office hours, please use the Faculty Office Hours link under the "Contact Us" tab above.)

Recreation, Parks and Tourism Administration Tenure-Track Faculty

Name Office / Phone Advising Area Email
Dr. Lisa Easterla
Associate Professor
SLN 4006 Recreation and Park Management, 
Graduate Coordinator
lisa.easterla@csus.edu
Dr. Beth Erickson
Professor
SLN 5024
(916) 278-2816
Recreation and Park Management erickson@csus.edu
Dr. Jamie Hoffman, CTRS
Associate Professor
SLN 4016
(916) 278-5021
Recreation Therapy Coordinator jamie.hoffman@csus.edu
Dr. Jungyun Christine Hur
Assistant Professor
SLN 4012 Recreation and Park Management (Hospitality and Tourism Management) hur@csus.edu
Dr. B. Dana Kivel
Professor
LIB 4028
(916) 278-4769
Director, Community Engagement Center bkivel@csus.edu
Dr. Katherine Pinch
Professor
SLN 4018
(916) 278-6880
Recreation and Park Management pinch@csus.edu
Dr. David Rolloff
Professor
SLN 4046 Recreation and Park Management rolloff@csus.edu
Dr. Greg Shaw
Professor
SLN 4000B
(916) 278-6752
Department Chair shaw@csus.edu
Dr. Tony Sheppard
Professor
SLN 4014 Recreation and Park Management (Hospitality and Tourism Management)
tony@csus.edu

Recreation, Parks and Tourism Administration Full-Time Lecturers

Name Office / Phone Area Email

Mrs. Katherine Martinez, M.S.
Lecturer

SLN 4011
(916) 813-0815
General Education  mckathy@csus.edu
Mr. Paul Polis, M.S., CTRS
Lecturer
SLN 4032 Recreation Therapist, The WELL paul.polis@csus.edu

Recreation, Parks and Tourism Administration Faculty Emeriti & FERP Faculty

Name Office / Phone Courses Email
Dr. Steven W. Gray
Professor Emeritus
SLN 4007 RPTA 30, 122, 100 graysw@csus.edu
Dr. Steve Gray holds a Ph.D. from the University of Southern California. He came to Sac State in 1987 as a lecturer, and in 1989 received the Meritorious Performance and Professional Promise Award.  He achieved the rank of full professor in 1993, and served as the chair of the department for 10 years, from 1993-2003.  He has published numerous articles, and in the last five years has focused his research on recreational sports, making presentations in the area of team sport involvement, leadership of sports clubs, and physical fitness benefits of sports participation. He has been particularly focused on the sport of Rugby and how the growing professionalization of the sport has affected participants.  He was inducted into the San Diego State Sports Hall of Fame in 2005 for coaching the National Collegiate Rugby club Championship Team. He will always be our "Supreme Commander." 
Dr. Ernest G. Olson
Professor Emeritus
SLN 4030 RPTA 100 olsoneg@csus.edu
Dr. Ernest G. Olson holds a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana.  He began his teaching career at California State University, Sacramento in 1978, following a teaching assignment at the University of Illinois and then San Diego State University.  In 2000 he was selected as the Outstanding Professor from the College of Health and Human Services.  He is the author of numerous articles and several books including Personal Growth and Development Through Leisure (Kendall-Hunt), Perspectives on Leisure (Kendall Hunt), and Finding the Calm Within:  How Leisure Can Help You Hang Loose in an Uptight World (Leisure Doc Publications).  He is a member of Phi Kappa Phi, the National Honor Society, and World Leisure Organization.  He is knowledgeable in Mandarin Chinese and active in international education.