Chemistry 140A: Physical Chemistry I Lecture

 

Fall 2013

Mon, Wed, Fri 10:00 – 10:50 AM

Sequoia Hall 450

 

Benjamin Gherman

Office Hours: Wednesdays, 11:00 AM – 12:30 PM

(and by appointment, made 24 hrs ahead)

E-mail: ghermanb@csus.edu

Office: Sequoia Hall 416-C

 

 

 

Announcements

Ψ        6/5/13:  Course textbooks for the fall:

1.      Required:  “Thermodynamics, Statistical Mechanics, and Kinetics,” 3rd edition, by Engel and Reid (ISBN:  0-321-76618-0)

2.      Recommended:  Student Solutions Manual, 3rd edition (ISBN: 0-321-76684-9)

Ψ        6/5/13:  Tentative course syllabus posted.

 

 

Course Information

Ψ        Syllabus (click here for PDF version)

Ψ        Lecture Schedule

Ψ        Powerpoint content from lectures, listed by day.

   

 

Handouts

Ψ        9/11/13 – Example problem – q, w, ΔU, ΔH calculation

Ψ        9/18/13 – U & H dependences

Ψ        10/23/13 – Real gases summary

Ψ        11/18/13 – Ionic quantities summary

Ψ        12/11/13 – Pre-equilibrium kinetics example

 

Interesting reading: 

Ψ        Michaelis-Menten enzyme kinetics – recent  (2011) publication from ACS: “The Original Michaelis Constant: Translation of the 1913 Michaelis-Menten Paper”

 

 

 

Homework Assignments

Ψ        Homework 1 (assignment – PDF)  due Wednesday, 9/11/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 2 (assignment – PDF)  due Wednesday 9/18/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 3 (assignment – PDF)  due Wednesday 9/25/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 4 (assignment – PDF)  due Wednesday 10/2/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 5 (assignment – PDF)  due Monday 10/14/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 6 (assignment – PDF)  due Monday 10/21/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 7 (assignment – PDF)  due Monday 10/28/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 8 (assignment – PDF)  due Monday 11/13/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 9 (assignment – PDF)  due Wednesday 11/20/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 10 (assignment – PDF)  due Wednesday 11/27/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 11 (assignment – PDF)  due Friday 12/6/13

(solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Homework 12 (assignment – PDF)  due Friday 12/13/13

(solutions – PDF)

 

 

Quizzes

Ψ        Quiz 1 – Friday 9/13/13          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 2 – Friday 9/20/13          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 3 – Friday 9/27/13          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 4 – Wednesday 10/16/13           (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 5 – Wednesday 10/23/13           (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 6 – Wednesday 10/30/13           (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 7 – Friday 11/15/13        (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 8 – Friday 11/22/13        (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 9 – Friday 12/6/13          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ψ        Quiz 10 –  Friday 12/13/13     (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

 

 Exams

Ψ        Exam 1 – Monday, 10/7/13    (exam – PDF, solutions – PDF)

o       topic checklist

o       practice exam and practice exam answers

Ψ        Exam 2 – Monday 11/4/13     (exam – PDF, solutions – PDF)

o       topic checklist

o       practice exam and practice exam answers

Ψ        Exam 3 – Monday 12/2/13     (exam – PDF, solutions – PDF)

o       topic checklist

o       practice exam and practice exam answers

Ψ        Final Exam – Friday 12/20/13 , 8:00am-10:00am

o       topic checklist (kinetics)