Chemistry 142: Introduction to Physical Chemistry

 

Spring 2008

Mon, Wed, Thurs, Fri  8:00 – 8:50 AM

452 Sequoia Hall

 

Benjamin Gherman

Office Hours: Wednesdays, 9:00 AM – 10:30 AM

(and by appointment, made 24 hrs ahead)

E-mail: ghermanb@csus.edu

Office: Sequoia Hall 416-C

 

 

Announcements

Ø        1/9/08: The course syllabus is now posted here

Ø        2/15/08:  Exam #1 topic checklist and cover sheet (with equations and constants) posted in “exams” section below.

Ø        3/18/08:  Exam #2 review problems (and solutions) posted in “exams” section below.

Ø        5/1/08:  Exam #4 topic checklist and cover sheet (with equations and constants) posted in “exams” section below.

Ø        5/12/08:  A review session for the final exam will held on Monday, May 19 from 3pm-5pm in SQU 416.

Ø        5/13/08:  Final exam topic checklist and cover sheet (with equations and constants) posted in “exams” section below.

 

 

Course Information

Ø        Syllabus (click here for PDF version)

Ø        Lecture Schedule

Ø        Powerpoint content from lectures, listed by day.

 

 

Homework Assignments

(solutions to non textbook problems are posted here)

 

Ø        Homework 1 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 2/6/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 2 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 2/13/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 3 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 2/20/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 4 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 3/5/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 5 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 3/12/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 6 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 3/19/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 7 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 4/9/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 8 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 4/16/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 9 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 4/30/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 10 (assignment – PDF) – due Wednesday, 5/7/08; solutions - PDF

Ø        Homework 11 (assignment – PDF) – due Friday, 5/16/08; solutions - PDF

 

 

Quizzes

Ø        Quiz 1 – Friday, 2/1/08            (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 2 – Friday, 2/8/08            (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 3 – Friday, 2/15/08          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 4 – Monday, 3/3/08         (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 5 – Friday, 3/7/08            (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 6 – Friday, 3/14/08          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 7 – Friday, 3/28/08          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 8 – Friday, 4/11/08          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 9 – Friday, 4/25/08          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 10 – Friday, 5/2/08          (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

Ø        Quiz 11 – Friday, 5/16/08        (quiz – PDF, solutions – PDF)

 

 Exams

Ø        Exam 1 – Thursday, 2/21/08     (exam – PDF, solutions – PDF)

o       topic checklist

o       cover page (constants & equations)

o       review problems and solutions

Ø        Exam 2 –  Friday, 3/21/08        (exam – PDF, solutions – PDF)

o       topic checklist

o       cover page (constants & equations)

o       review problems and solutions

Ø        Exam 3 –  Friday, 4/18/08        (exam – PDF, solutions – PDF)

o       topic checklist

o       cover page (constants & equations)

o       review problems and solutions

Ø        Exam 4 –  Friday, 5/9/08          (exam – PDF, solutions – PDF)

o       topic checklist

o       cover page (constants & equations)

o       review problems and solutions

Ø        Final Exam  - Wednesday, 5/21/08  8:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

o       topic checklist

o       cover page (constants & equations)