Media Sources:

 Some of the magazines in the "first tier" of the two-tier model. Many ideas originate here and filter down.

The New Republic                 http://www.tnr.com - conservative
The Nation                             http://www.thenation.com - progressive
The Weekly Standard            http://www.weeklystandard.com/ -
conservative
The New Yorker                    http://www.newyorker.com/-
literary, center-left
Harper's                                 http://www.harpers.org/ -
multi-interest, primarily left
The National Review             http://www.nationalreview.com/ -
conservative
Mother Jones                        http://www.motherjones.com/  -
liberal  
                     

Also, newspapers that are most reputable and national:

The Washington Post                         http://www.washingtonpost.com
The Wall Street Journal                    http://online.wsj.com/public/us
For international Newspapers           http://www.ipl.org/div/news/ ---
Try these - get some perspective.
New York Times                                http://www.nytimes.com/

Broadcast media sites:

Radio:

National Public Radio           http://www.npr.org ---The radio counterpoint to pbs. There are 3 local NPR
                                                 stations, 90.9 KXPR and 88.9 KXJZ, both broadcast from our campus, and 89.3 KQED, the San                                                                                                  Franciso affiliate. In-depth reporting with a primarily national focus.

KFBK                                        1530 AM - The original station of Rush Limbaugh - conservative talk
Air America                             1240 AM - The first liberal talk radio station
This American Life                http://www.thislife.org This is a radio program that you can listen to online - archived back 6-7 years
BBC                                          British Broadcasting - A more comprehensive and international outlook

Television


PBS                                         http://www.pbs.org/
CNN                                       http://www.cnn.com/
Fox News                                http://www.foxnews.com/
ABC                                        http://abcnews.go.com/
CBS                                        http://www.cbs.com
NBC                                        http://www.nbc.com/nbc/NBC_News/                                     
MSNBC                                  http://www.msnbc.com
C-Span                                    http://www.c-span.org/
Comedy Central                    http://www.comedycentral.com

Aggregation sites

daylife                                www.daylife.com