Skip to main content

How to Disable BitTorrent

It is not possible to disable filesharing in BitTorrent or to disable sharing of .torrent files while downloading with any other BitTorrent client.

As long as you are downloading a .torrent file or leave the window open, you are sharing that file. Because of this, it is recommended that you not use BitTorrent to download copyrighted files, since it is not possible to remain in compliance with the AUP.

Disabling uTorrent

  1. Click General
  2. Click Preferences 
  3. Uncheck the box that says "Start uTorrent on System startup"
  4. Click OK
  5. Exit the uTorrent window
  6. Find the uTorrent icon in the system tray and right-click
  7. Click exit to prevent the program from running in the background