Skip to main content

School of Music

Season Highlights

Basic Info

40th Annual Festival of New American Music
November 3-12, 2017

Admission to all events is free! Daily concerts, masterlcasses, and forums.

Highlights Page

Stephen Blumberg, Director
David A. Wells, Co-Director

Parking is free after 7pm in PS1 for the evening concerts.

Driving Directions

Festival of New American Music

Friday, November 3 Saturday, November 4
  • NOON - PERFORMANCE: Citywater with guest harpist Jennifer Ellis; Sacramento State Symphony Orchestra, Thomas Derthick, conductor, with guest harpists Beverley Wesner Hoehn and Kerstin Allvin (Capistrano Concert Hall)
  • 3:00pm - Student Composers Open Reading Session: Music for Harp and Instruments. Jennifer Ellis, harp, with members of Citywater (Capistrano Hall 151)
  • 8:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Line Upon Line Percussion (Capistrano Concert Hall)
Sunday, November 5 Monday, November 6
  • 8:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Festival Ensemble (Capistrano Concert Hall)
Tuesday, November 7
  • 8:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Lois Herbine, piccolo (Capistrano Concert Hall)
Wednesday, November 8
  • 4:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Student Artists Competition (Capistrano Hall 151)
  • 8:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Mayumi Hama and Chris Froh, marimba duo (Capistrano Concert Hall)
Thursday, November 9
  • 4:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Student Composers Competition (Capistrano Hall 151)
  • 8:00pm - PERFORMANCE: ACME (American Contemporary Music Ensemble) (Capistrano Concert Hall)

Friday, November 10 NO EVENTS - VETERAN'S DAY HOLIDAY

Saturday, November 11
  • Noon - PERFORMANCE: Young Festival Performers (Capistrano Concert Hall)
  • 8:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Daedalus String Quartet (Capistrano Concert Hall)
Sunday, November 12
  • 3:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Andrew Blanton, composer/percussionist/electronics (Crocker Art Museum) *museum admission applies
  • 8:00pm - PERFORMANCE: Gilbert Kalish, piano (Capistrano Concert Hall)