Latin Jazz Ensemble

The Sacramento State Latin Jazz Ensemble is directed by Carlos McCoy. Since its inception the ensemble has released three CD recordings: Con Sentimiento (2002), Pasando el Tiempo (2005), and Havana (2008). In 2009, the Latin Jazz Ensemble was awarded a DownBeat Student Music Award in the Latin Jazz Category for tracks submitted off the Havana CD. In addition to performances for Sacramento State campus concerts and private and corporate functions, the ensemble has been called upon regularly to play for a wide variety of events such as the annual Sacramento Music Festival, the California State Fair, the Latin American Heritage Festival, the Music in the Mountains concert series, the Vallejo Jazz Festival, and the Hutchins Street Square concert series. The ensemble has also performed in such prestigious venues as the Mondavi Center in Davis and the Golden State Museum in downtown Sacramento. In 2015, the ensemble was invited to perform at annual Jazz Educators Network conference in San Diego along with guest artist John Santos. Prominent guest artists who have appeared with the Sacramento State Latin Jazz Ensemble include Mark Levine, Harold Muniz,Wayne Wallace, Carlos Caro, Jamie Dubberly and Abel Figueroa.

This exciting ensemble plays a wide range of Latin musical styles, including merengue, cha-cha-cha, mambo, Afro-Cuban, and rumba. The band plays original compositions and arrangements as well as Latin Jazz standards by Tito Puente, Ray Barretto, Eddie Palmieri, Mario Bauza, Mongo Santamaria, Mark Levine, Oscar Hernandez, Michael Philip Mossman, Poncho Sanchez, and others.

The ensemble varies in its instrumentation based upon the needs and demands of the selected repertoire.

Music majors, non-music majors and students enrolled through the College of Extended Studies may participate in the Sac State Latin Jazz Ensemble.

Placement in the Latin Jazz Ensemble is by audition only. For more information, please contact Carlos McCoy at:

The Sacramento State Latin Jazz Ensemble has released three CDs, Con Sentimiento, Pasando El Tiempo, and Havana, all of which are available at all Sac State jazz concerts and by contacting Steve Roach. To listen to selected sound clips from each album, click on the song title.

Havana (2008)
  1. Havana (Bill Cunliffe)
  2. Joseito (Scott Martin)
  3. Piel Canela (Bobby Capo)
  4. Songomania (Rebecca Mauleon)
  5. Afluencia (Bill Cunliffe)
  6. Delirio (Cesar Portillo de la luz)
  7. Sister Sadie (arr. Michael Philip Mossman)
  8. Perla Morena (Oscar Hernandez)
  9. Mil Besos (Emma Elena Valdelamar)
  10. Fiesta A La King (Tito Puente)
  11. De Patato (Dominic Garcia)
Pasando El Tiempo (2005)
  1. Three in One (Wayne Wallace)
  2. Pasando el Tiempo (Wayne Wallace)
  3. Latin Perspective (Oscar Hernandez)
  4. Cafe Con Azucar (Wayne Wallace)
  5. Pacifico (Humberto Ramirez)
  6. Come Candela (Mongo Santamaria)
  7. Brother Ray (Michael Philip Mossman)
  8. Cancion De Mi Corazon (Cory Cunningham)
  9. Jazz Sabor (Oscar Hernandez)
Con Sentimiento (2002)
  • Chucho (Paquito D'Rivera)
  • Linda Chicana (Mark Levine)
  • Dance of Denial (Michael Phillip Mossman)
  • Midnight Mambo (Oscar Hernandez)
  • Song for Chano (Ray Barretto)
  • Varadero Blues (Jan Hartong)
  • Cha-Cha-Cha (Chucho Valdes)