May 16, 2008

Induction ceremony celebrates University football greats

Sacramento State’s Football and Spirit chapter of the Alumni Association will host this year’s 2008 Hall of Fame Induction and Football Reunion at 5:30 p.m., Saturday, May 24 at the Sacramento State Alumni Center.

The event will welcome new Football Hall of Fame inductees Lonie Paxton, Dave Hall, Rob Harrison, Bobbie Jackson, Gary Lunsford, Marlan Meggers, Jon Osterhout, Charles Roberts and Ryland Wickman.

Wally Borland will receive the first-ever Community Award in recognition of the thousands of hours he has volunteered to all Hornet sports programs over the past 40 years.

The event will begin with a no-host cocktail hour at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner and the ceremony at 6:30 p.m. Registration is $50 per person and can be completed online at or call (916) 278-6295.

The Hall of Fame was established to recognize Hornet football players that excelled on the gridiron at Sacramento State. Since 1979, 63 players have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. The inductees are chosen by a Hall of Fame Committee comprised of alumni who are closely involved with Sacramento State’s football programs.

For more information, contact Sacramento State’s Alumni Affairs office at (916) 278-6295 or visit For media assistance, contact Sacramento State’s Public Affairs office at (916) 278-6156.