December 18, 2006

Budget Task Force

Sacramento State President Alexander Gonzalez has established a campus-wide Budget Task Force to examine the 2006-07 budget, determine the extent and sources of any structural deficit that may exist, and make recommendations regarding current and future spending regarding that deficit. The Budget Task Force will meet for the first time in December. Its membership includes members of the faculty, staff and administration as well as two student representatives.

The members of the Task Force are faculty members Steve Perez, Chris Castaneda, Tom Krabacher, Laureen O’Hanlon, Karen Davis-O’Hara, James Sobredo and Scott Farrand; administration/staff representatives Paul Edwards, Lillie Jones, Emir Macari and Suzanne Ogilby; and student representatives Tiffany Huang and Sabrina Barbarena.

The President has also indicated his plan to form a University Budget Advisory Committee once the Task Force has completed its work. That committee will be charged with involving the campus community in the budget process, ensuring that budget information is clear and easily accessible and making recommendations for annual budgets.

The current Sacramento State budget has a structural deficit that must be addressed in coming years. The Budget Task Force and the eventual University Budget Advisory Committee will play a key role in finding solutions and leading the campus community in informed budget discussions.

Some facts about the Sacramento State budget:

For media assistance, call the Sacramento State Public Affairs office 278-6156.