Skip to main content

One Book Program

Contact Us


One Book Program
California State University, Sacramento
6000 J Street
Sacramento, CA 95819-6075

Follow us!

Facebook link               link to twitter            Link to sign up for listserv

 Campus Events Contacts

General Public
(916) 278-5290

University Union
(916) 278-7503

Multi-Cultural Center
(916) 278-2377

University Library
(916) 278-3672

General Information
(916) 278-6156

One Book Program Staff

Hellen Lee, Ph.D.
Faculty Coordinator, One Book Program     Associate Professor, Department of English       (916) 278-5344               

Kaitlyn Ehrmantrout
Administrative Coordinator
(916) 278-2804                 

Chevelle Newsome, Ph.D.
Interim Dean 
Undergraduate Studies
Academic Affairs
(916) 278-5344

One Book Program Interns

Michelle Bowler

Marcella Gucho

One Book Selection Committee

The One Book Selection Committee, comprised of faculty, staff, students and community representatives, bases its decision on the following criteria:

  • Accessibility and appeal to all community members
  • Quality of writing
  • Encourages interdisciplinary thought and sparks passionate discussion in a variety of courses and contexts
  • Explores diverse cultural perspectives
  • Provides challenging opportunities for new learning and exploration
  • Addresses contemporary issues

One Book Selection Committee Members

Valerie Becker

Diane Bento

Bob Buckley
Emeritus Faculty

April Butcher
Sacramento Library Foundation

Jazmin Campos

Chad Disharoon
Housing and Residential Life

Sally Hitchcock
University Library

Aja Holmes
Housing and Residential Life

Jordan Holmes

Angela Leslie

Jennifer Lundmark
Natureal Sciences & Mathematics

Nicki Mehta

Sujatha Moni
Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies

Haley Myers
Parents & Families Program

Suzette Riddle
University Advancement

Lee Simpson
Honors Program

Maureen Smith
Health and Human Sciences

Christy Solorio 
Health and Human Sciences

Andrew Stoner

Kim Zarins

If you are interested in serving on the One Book Selection Committee, please contact Hellen Lee, One Book Faculty Coordinator, at

One Book Program Advisory Committee

Janet Hecsh 

Sally Hitchcock 
University Library

Ajamu Lumumba 

Sheree Meyer 
Academic Affairs

Briget Parsh
First Year Experience

Suzette Riddle 
University Advancement

Lee Simpson
Honors Program

Julie Thomas
Special Collections and Manuscripts, University Library

If you are interested in serving on the One Book Advisory Committee, please contact Hellen Lee, One Book Faculty Coordinator, at

Support One Book

If you would like to support the One Book Program, become a sponsor or partner!

Sacramento State University's One Book Program relies upon the generosity of our sponsors and partners. We are continuing to forge new sponsorships and partnerships. For more information about individual or corporate giving, please contact us at You may also make a gift here; be sure to select One Book Program on the drop-down menu.