Skip to main content

Office of the President

University Presidents, 1947 to Today

2015 - present Robert S. Nelsen
2003 - 2015 Alexander Gonzalez
1984 - 2003 Donald R. Gerth
1983 - 1984 Austin J. Gerber *
1978 - 1983 Lloyd Johns
1972 - 1978 James G. Bond
1970 - 1972 Bernard L. Hyink
1969 - 1970 Otto Butz *
1966 - 1969 Robert Johns
1965 - 1966 Stephen L. Walker *
1965 F. Blair Mayne *
1947 - 1965 Guy A. West

* Acting president

Read More About Sacramento State's History

image from Sac State's early days

Sacramento State had rather humble beginnings, starting out in 1947 in rented quarters at a local junior college. Within six years, the fledgling Sacramento State had settled at its permanent site alongside the American River, not far from California's Capitol.

Since then, Sacramento State has grown into one of the nation's top regional universities, led for the past 12 years by President Alexander Gonzalez, who retired at the end of the 2014-15 academic year. He leaves his successor, Dr. Robert S. Nelsen, and the University poised for continued success and an ever-growing presence in the Sacramento region.

Growth and Success: Sac State Since 1947

The Alexander Gonzalez Era: 2003-2015

Learn about Sac State's future

Sacramento State is positioned for a bright future with the approval of its Campus Master Plan, which details the physical improvements to be made over the next 20 years; and the Strategic Plan, which shapes the University’s mission, vision, values, and strategic direction through 2020.