Department Chair


Rebecca CAMERON, Ph.D. (Kent State University)

Dr. Rebecca Cameron

E-mail: cameron@csus.edu

Available by appointment only. Please contact the Department Office at 916-278-6254 for Assistance.

All office hours listed below begin on August 28, 2017 and are effective until December 8, 2017. Hours are subject to change.

Faculty/Major Advisors

Faculty/Advisor

Contact Information and Office Hours

Field and Research Interests

Phillip AKUTSU, Ph.D. (UCLA)

Dr. Phillip Akutsu

Office: AMD 351D

Office hours: T 12-1:30pm, W 10:30am-12pm, and by appt.

E-mail: akutsu@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6364

Field: Clinical Psychology

Research Interests: Racial and cultural factors in psychology, Help-seeking attitudes and behaviors, Mental health service utilization and delivery, Racial prejudice and discrimination, Asian American psychology

 Rachel AUGUST, Ph.D. (The Claremont Graduate School)

Dr. Rachel August

Office: AMD 364A

Office hours: M 3-4:30pm, W 9:30-10am, F 9-10am, and by appt.

E-mail: raugust@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6814

Field:  Industrial/Organizational Psychology

Research Interests: College Student-Athlete Career Development, Career Transitions, Organizational Socialization, Older Workers, Women Workers, Workplace Diversity

Lee BERRIGAN, Ph.D. (Washington University, St. Louis)

Dr. Lee Berrigan

Office: AMD 551A

Office hours: T 3:15-4:15pm and 6-7pm, Th 9-9:30pm, and by appt.

Email: berrigan@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7364

Field: Clinical Psychology

Research Interests: Process and Outcome in Psychotherapy, Psychological Assessment, Personality Development and Change, Clinical and Experimental Aspects of Hypnosis

Lisa BOHON, Ph.D. (UC Riverside)

Dr. Lisa Bohon

Office: AMD 361D

Office hours: M 10-11:50am, W 10-10:50am, and by appt.

E-mail: bohonlm@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6240

Field: Social Psychology

Research Interests: Social Cognition, Person Perception, Evolutionary Psychology, Mate Selection

Jeffrey CALTON, Ph.D. (Univ. of Missouri)

Dr. Jeffrey Calton

Office: AMD 363B

Office hours: T/Th 12:30-1pm and 3-4pm, and by appt.

E-mail: calton@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5607

Field: Behavioral Neuroscience

Research Interests: Spatial Cognition, Animal Navigation, Behavioral Neuroscience, Physiology of Learning, Animal Cognition

Erin Rose ELLISON, Ph.D. (UC Santa Cruz)

Dr. Erin Ellison

Office: AMD 351B

Office hours: T 12:30-3:30pm and by appt.

E-mail: ellison@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7591

Field: Community Psychology

Research Interests: Social-community psychology; Relational empowerment, collective action, transformative justice, youth and community development; Community-university relations; Participatory Action Research, Social Network Analysis.

 

Sharon FURTAK, Ph.D. (Yale University)

Dr. Sharon Furtak-Nguyen

Office: AMD 357A

Office hours: T 4:15-6:15pm, Th 2-3pm, and by appt.

E-mail: furtak@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6666

Field: Behavioral Neuroscience

Research Interests: Behavioral Neuroscience, Human and rodent models of emotional learning and memory, Neurobiology of fear learning to cues and contexts.

Website: http://www.csus.edu/faculty/f/sharon.furtak/index.html

Lisa HARRISON, Ph.D. (Univ. of Nebraska)

Dr. Lisa Harrison

Office: AMD 361B

Office hours: T/TH 4:30-6:00pm and by appt.

E-mail: lharriso@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6815

Field: Social Psychology

Research Interests: Implicit Attitudes and Nonconscious Biases; Prejudice and Stereotyping; Gender; Feminist Psychology

Website: http://www.csus.edu/faculty/h/lharriso/

Megan HEINICKE, Ph.D. (Auburn University)

Dr. Megan Heinicke

Office: AMD 357D

Office hours: M 2:30-5:30pm and by appt.

E-mail: megan.heinicke@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7592

Field: Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)

Research Interests: ABA, Stimulus Preference Assessments, Acquired Brain Injury Rehabilitation, Developmental Disabilities, Verbal Behavior, Teaching of Behavior Analysis

Research Lab Website: www.heinickeresearchlab.com

Gregory HURTZ, Ph.D. (University at Albany, State University of New York)

Dr. Greg Hurtz

Office: AMD 364B

Office hours: Th 1-3:50pm and by appt.

E-mail: ghurtz@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-7593

Field: Industrial/Organizational, Quantitative Psychology

Research Interests: Employment Testing, Psychometric Theory and Methods, Applications of Item Response Theory and Rasch Measurement, Statistical Methods, Monte Carlo Analysis

Research Lab Website: http://www.hurtzlab.com/

Gregory KIM-JU, Ph.D. (Boston College)

Dr. Greg Kim-Ju

Office: AMD 351A

Office hours: T/TH 2:50-4:20pm and by appt.

E-mail: kimju@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6738

Field: Cultural Psychology

Research Interests: Community-based Research and Intervention Programs, Collective Identities, Diversity and Perceptions of Race and Ethnicity, Diaspora and Transnationalism, and Civic Engagement

Website: http://www.csus.edu/faculty/k/kimju/

Casey KNIFSEND, Ph.D. (UCLA)

Dr. Casey Knifsend

Office: AMD 351C

Office hours: M 2:30-4:30pm, T 12-1pm, and by appt.

E-mail: casey.knifsend@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6191

Field: Developmental Psychology

Research Interests: Developmental psychology, Adolescence, Extracurricular involvement, Social identity development and complexity, Intergroup attitudes, cross-ethnic peer relationships, Influence of school and interpersonal contexts on adolescent development

Research Lab Website: https://sites.google.com/site/developmentalpsychologylab/

Melissa McTERNAN, Ph.D. (UC Davis)

Dr. Melissa McTernan

Office: AMD 353A

Office hours: M 1-2pm, Th 9-11am, and by appt.

E-mail: mcternan@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5714

Field: Quantitative Psychology

Research Interests: Longitudinal data analysis, Mixed-effects modeling, Missing data problems, Zero-inflated data and two-part modeling; Substantive Interests: Preventative health, Education outcomes.

Website: https://mlmcternan.wixsite.com/csus

Larry MEYERS, Ph.D. (Adelphi University, Post Doctoral Fellowship at University of Texas and Purdue University)

Dr. Larry Meyers

Office: AMD 363A

Office hours: T 10:30am-1:30pm and by appt.

E-mail: larrym@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6365

Field: Applied and Quantitative Psychology

Research Interests: Multivariate Research and Analysis including Structural Equation Modeling, Test Validation and Development, Psychometrics, Job Analysis, Selection in Employment Contexts, Survey/Inventory Design, History of Psychology

Caio MIGUEL, Ph.D. (Western Michigan University)

Dr. Caio Miguel

Office: AMD 364D

Office hours: M 3-6pm and by appt.

E-mail: miguelc@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6813

Field: Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)

Research Interests: ABA, Verbal Behavior, Stimulus Control/Equivalence, Autism Treatment, Applied Animal Behavior

Research Lab Website: www.verbalbehaviorlab.com

Alexandra MORRISON, Ph.D. (Temple University)

Dr. Alexandra Morrison

Office: AMD 353C

Office hours: M 1:30-3pm, W 9-10:30am, and by appt. 

E-mail:  alexandra.morrison@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6892

Field: Cognitive Psychology

Research Interests: Attention, Working Memory, Mind Wandering, Strategy Use in Situations Requiring Attention and Working Memory, Cognitive Training

Website: http://www.csus.edu/faculty/m/alexandra.morrison/index.html

Becky PENROD, Ph.D. (Univ. of Nevada, Reno)

Dr. Becky Penrod

Office: AMD 361A

Office hours:

E-mail: penrodb@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6457

Field: Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA)

Research Interests: ABA, Pediatric Feeding Disorders, Assessment and Treatment of Problem Behavior, and Behavioral Health

Research Lab Website: www.pbrlab.com

Jianjian (J.J.) QIN, Ph.D. (UC Davis)

Dr. JJ Qin

Office: AMD 357B

Office hours: T/Th 10:30am-12pm and by appt.

E-mail: qinj@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5606

Field: Cognitive Psychology

Research Interests: Eyewitness Memory and Suggestibility, Emotion/Trauma and Memory, Cognitive Psychology, Psychology and Law, Research Methods and Statistics

Oriel STRICKLAND, Ph.D. (Purdue University)


Dr. Oriel Strickland

Office: AMD 364C

Office hours: W 1-4:30pm and by appt.

E-mail: ojstrick@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-5609

Field: Industrial/Organzational Psychology

Research Interests: Performance Appraisal, Leadership, Work Motivation, Personnel Selection, Social Influences on Work Teams

Emily WICKELGREN, Ph.D. (Indiana University)

Dr. Emily Wickelgren

Office: AMD 363D

Office hours: F 8:30-11:30am and by appt.

E-Mail: wickelgren@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6871

Field: Sensation/Perception

Research Interests: Pedagogy, Visual Event Perception, Affordances, & Perception/Action, Human Factors

Faculty on Permanent Administrative Assignment

Marya ENDRIGA, Ph.D. (University of Washington)

Dr. Marya Endriga

SSIS Associate Dean for Student and Personnel Success

Lecturers

Lecturer
Location and Office Hours
Contact Information

Dani Binegar, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 361C

Office hours: Th 7:50-8:35pm and by appt.

E-mail: binegar@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6944

Victoria Bovard, M.A.

Office: AMD 355

Office hours:

E-mail: toriac@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6856

Kim Carter, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 551C

Office hours: M 1-2pm, and by appt.

E-mail: kimberly.carter@csus.edu

Phone: 916-278-6808

Kathryn Clifford, M.Ed.

Professor Kathryn Clifford

Office: AMD 551C

Office hours: M 2:00-4:15pm and by appt.

E-mail: psyc.clifford@csus.edu

Phone:  916-278-6808

De-Laine Cyrenne, Ph.D.

Dr. De-Laine Cyrenne

Office: AMD 363C

Office hours: M 9-10:30am, T 12-1:30pm, and by appt.

E-mail: de-laine.cyrenne@csus.edu

Phone:

Jeanne Edman, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 363C

Office hours: T 8:45-9:45am (on-campus), 9:55-11am (online), and by appt.

E-mail: jeanne.edman@csus.edu

Phone: 

Edward Edsten, M.S.

Office: TAH 3036

Office hours: T/Th 4:30-6:30pm and by appt.

E-mail: edsten@csus.edu

Phone:

Erin Freed, Ph.D.

Office: TAH 3036

Office hours: T/Th 3-4:15pm and by appt.

E-mail: freed@csus.edu

Phone: 

Tim Gaffney, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 551C

Office hours: T 5-6pm, W 2-3pm and by appt.

E-mail: tim.gaffney@csus.edu

Phone:

Nicole Hollis, Ph.D.

Office: BRH 219

Office hours:

 E-mail: hollis@csus.edu

Phone: 

Shannon Q. Hurtz, Ph.D.

Dr. Shannon Hurtz

Office: AMD 551B

Office hours: M/W 12-1pm, Fri 11am-12pm, and by appt.

E-mail: shannon.hurtz@csus.edu

Phone: 

Ann Leber, M.A., MFT

Office: AMD 353B

Office hours: MWF 11-11:45am and by appt.

E-mail: ann.leber@csus.edu

Phone: 

Cindy Long-Nicholson, M.S.

Office: SLN 4022

Office hours: M/W 9-10am and by appt.

E-mail: long-nicholson@csus.edu

Phone:

Najia Nafiz, M.A.

Office: AMD 361C

Office hours: W 12:15-1:45pm and by appt.

E-mail: nafiz@csus.edu

Phone:

Meg Patterson, M.S., MFT

Professor Meg Patterson

Office: AMD 551C

Office hours: Tu 8:45-10am, 11:30-12:00pm, and by appt.

E-mail: meg.patterson@csus.edu

Phone: 

Pu Peng, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 361C

Office hours: Th 4:30pm - 5:15pm and by appt.

E-mail: pu.peng@csus.edu

Phone:

Cassandra Perryman, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 353D

Office hours: M/W 1:30-2:30pm

E-mail: cassandra.perryman@csus.edu

Phone:

John Pugliese, Ph.D.

Dr. John Pugliese

Office: AMD 356

Office hours:

E-mail: john.pugliese@csus.edu

Phone: 

Donald Rickgauer, M.A.

Office: AMD 353D

Office hours: MWF 11-12pm and by appt.

E-mail: donald.rickgauer@csus.edu

Phone:

Kim Roberts, Ph.D.

Dr. Kim Roberts

Office: AMD 355 (On Sabbatical)

Office hours: On Sabbatical

E-mail: sac52786@csus.edu

Phone: 

Dario Sacchi, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 361C

Office hours:

E-mail: dlsacchi@csus.edu

Phone:

Sarah Strand, Ph.D.

Dr. Sarah Strand

Office: AMD 356

Office hours:

Mondays (Via Zoom csus.zoom.cs): 1:30-3:00pm

Zoom Office Hours are private. Students can log in from anywhere via phone, tablet, or computer.

  • For "Meeting ID," enter 146 409 762
  • For "Password," enter Spring2017 

Wednesday (in-person): 1:30-3:00pm

In-Person office hours take place in AMD 356

And by Appointment:

  • Appointments can occur in-person (at AMD 356) or via Zoom (if you are not on campus). Email Dr. Strand for an in-person appointment (send her 2 day/time combinations)  and log in to Zoom to set a online appointment.

E-mail: sstrand@csus.edu

Phone: 

John Tamblyn, Ed.D., M.A.

Office: AMD 353D

Office hours: MWF 10-11am, T/TH 2-3pm, and by appt.

E-mail: sac67915@csus.edu

Phone:

Teri Tanaka, Ph.D.

Office: AMD 551B

Office hours: T/TH 1:30-2:30pm and by appt.

E-mail: teri.tanaka@csus.edu

Phone:

Diane Walsh, M.A., C.P.G

Office: AMD 353B

Office hours: M/W 1:30-2:30pm, T/Th 1:30-2:00pm, and by appt.

E-mail: walsh.d@csus.edu

Phone: