IMAGE: Across Campus





Distinguished Service Award recipients

In addition to Rene Syler, seven others will be honored at the Distinguished Service Awards on April 6. The event is a highlight of Alumni Month, which is held each April to highlight our alumni and invite them to be involved in campus life.

»» For tickets or more information call the Alumni Association at (916) 278-6295

Lifetime Achievement Award

William Campbell III (’67,Accountancy and ’70, M.B.A.).

Co-owner Spare Time, Inc., and Coach, Hornets Women’s Tennis Team. A generous benefactor to Sac State, he took over as tennis coach in 1999— he donates his services—and
led the team to four straight Big Sky Championships, receiving Coach of the Year honors each time. He served as executive director and president of the original Stinger Foundation and is on the re-established Stinger Advisory Board. He has also served on the College of Business Administration and Accountancy Department advisory boards and is a member of President Gonzalez’ Executive Committee for the Recreation, Wellness, Events Center and Stadium project. He was named Alumnus of the Year by the College of Business Administration and received Order of the Hornet and Distinguished Service awards in 1988. He has also served on many local non-profits boards and has received numerous civic honors including Philanthropist of the Year in 1992.

Distinguished Service Awards

Jack Bertolucci
(‘50, Business Administration).

For 27 years, Bertolucci was vice president and regional manager of Norris, Beggs and Simpson, a mortgage banking and commercial real estate company. He was president of the Sacramento Mortgage Bankers’ Association and the North Area Junior Chamber of Commerce. He was the second president of the Alumni Association and was instrumental in building Alumni Grove. He also established two scholarships for student athletes studying business administration.

Patrick P. Fenwick, (‘61, Recreation Administration, ‘71, Physical Education).

District Administrator for Arden Park Recreation and Park istrict. Fenwick has been with the district since 1992, overseeing the renovation of several facilities and developing its first master plan. He serves on numerous boards and committees and has received several professional awards. Fenwick has served the University on a variety of project committees including president of the Recreation, Park and Leisure Studies Chapter of the Alumni Association.

Jack Higdon, (‘52, Accountancy).

Chair of the Board of California Moving Systems. Higdon
is a long-time supporter of the University and the Alumni Association. He served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors for nearly 10 years. He has also been a strong supporter of the University’s athletics programs. At events he is known for doing whatever he can to get the job done, from setting up chairs to firing-up the barbecue. Higdon founded California Moving Systems in 1967. He is active in the Rotary Club of Sacramento and other community organizations.

Theresa “Terri” A. Parker, (‘76, Economics).

Executive Director of the California Housing Finance Agency. Under her direction, CalHFA lending to first-time homebuyers has increased 20 percent. Before her appointment to CalHFA in 1997, she was chief deputy director for policy at the
Department of Finance. Parker serves on several state boards and has been awarded numerous citations including the 2003 Distinguished Public Official by the Non-profit Housing Association of Northern California.

Randall E. Reynoso, (’80, Finance).

President and COO of Placer Sierra/Sacramento Commercial Bank. Reynoso has been an active supporter of non-profit organizations in the Sacramento area, raising more than $1 million. He has been president of the Stanford Home for Children Foundation, and helped raise funds for the American Red Cross, the Nonprofit Resource Center, the Sacramento Children’s Home, and the American Leadership Forum. He received the Annual Award of Excellence from the Center for AIDS Research Education and Services and the Unsung Hero Award from the Community Services Council.

Rene Syler (‘87, psychology). Co-anchor, CBS News’ “The Early Show.” (see cover story)

Distinguished Service Awards

Marilyn Hopkins, (’70, Nursing).

Dean of the College of Health and Human Services. Hopkins oversees one of the University’s largest Colleges. She has more than 20 years teaching experience in higher education after beginning her career as a registered nurse. In addition to leading the College’s academic efforts, she has helped it obtain funds for nationally recognized professional learning opportunities for students, and for community interventions with high-risk families. She was awarded the Bautzer Faculty University Advancement Award from the CSU system for achievements in fundraising. She also serves on the Community Services Planning Council.


Questions or comments? Contact us at (916) 278-6156 or

Return to CSUS Home Page