Research & Creative Activity (RCA) Subcommittee


Click here for the list of 17/18 RCA Faculty Award Recipients

Dr. Jamie Kneitel and Dr. Brendan Lindsay have been named the recipients of the two University Awards for Research, Scholarship & Creative Activity. Congratulations!

The Research and Creative Activity Awards Subcommittee is a subcommittee of the Academic Senate’s Faculty Policies Committee. The subcommittee is comprised of elected members from each college, as well as a Faculty Policies Committee liaison, and a member-at-large. The committee meets bi-weekly during each semester.

The purpose of the subcommittee is to administer three awards:

Additionally, they are charged with supporting faculty research, scholarly, and creative activity on campus and to recommend policy and procedures related to these awards to the Faculty Policies Committee.


RCA Faculty Awards Program

The RCA Faculty Awards Program supports faculty research, scholarly, and creative activity, and faculty contributions to their discipline. All current Unit 3 Faculty are eligible and encouraged to apply. 

University Award for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity for Early-Career Faculty

This award (formerly known as the President's Award) honors a Sacramento State faculty member who has made significant contributions over the last five years to their discipline.

University Award for Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity for Senior Faculty

This award (formerly known as the Outstanding Scholarly Achievement Award) recognizes tenured and tenure track faculty who have been at Sacramento State for at least ten academic years and who have, over many years, made significant contributions to a discipline through research, scholarly activity, creative/artistic endeavors, and publications.

16/17 Subcommittee Membership




Nancy Sweet (Chair)

Arts & Letters


Carlos Nevarez


Doctorate in Educational Leadership

Ilhan Tuzcu

Engineering & Computer Science

Mechanical Engineering

Joyce Mikal-Flynn

Health & Human Services


Katherine McReynolds

Natural Sciences & Mathematics


Patricia Morris

Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies


James Fox

University Library

Special Collections/University Archives


College of Business Administration


Contact Information

Subcommittee Chair

Nancy Sweet

Administrative Contact

Julie McGinty, (916) 278-4918