Sacrament State DiscoveriesSacramento StateRACARACA




About Us


Contact Information



Funding Opportunities


Proposal Development


Contract Development


Award Administration


Policies and Procedures


Workshops and Training

Research Integrity and Compliance


Animal Welfare


Conflicts of Interest


Human Subjects


RCR-Responsible Conduct

Centers and Institutes


Collaborations and Initiatives


California Intern Network


Student Opportunities

Sacramento State


University Enterprises, Inc.

Student Research

Contact Information

Research Administration

Kendra Frank

(916) 278-3667



Student Research Symposium


Student WinnersWinners: Luke Fuson, Jessica Bean, Max Hardy, Jasmine Stewart-Oliver

The Office of Research Administration hosted the annual Sacramento State Student Research Symposium on Friday, March 1, 2013. Nineteen students from various disciplines took part in the Symposium. Ten students were selected to compete at the CSU statewide competition May 10-11 at California State Polytechnic University, Pomona. The students’ travel expenses will be reimbursed by an ARA Grant and the Office of Research Administration.


2013 Winners

The winners of the graduate division were Jamie Donkin, Kinesiology and Health Science with her presentation Static Stretching Does Not Affect Time Trial Performance in Cyclist; and the team of M. Katy Janes, Jay Heffernan and Joe Rosenbery, Geology, with their presentation Hydrologic Monitoring of Salmon Habitat Restoration Sites on the Lower American River, Sacramento, California.


Jasmine Stewart-Oliver’s (Family Studies) “Serengeti to Sacramento: Migration from Desert to Desert and the Effect on Health,” and Max Hardy’s (Civil Engineering) “Large-scale Experiments to Investigate Low-ductility Design of Homes During Earthquakes,” delivered the top two presentations in the undergraduate division.  Both students receive a $500 award for their accomplishments.  Professor Bohsiu Wu, mentor for Ms. Stewart-Oliver, and Professor Ben Fell, mentor for Mr. Hardy, will both receive a $500 Faculty Professional Development Award.


In addition, these six other students were selected to attend the statewide competition:

Sam Borstein, Undergraduate, Biological Sciences
“Mouthbrooding Does Not Constrain Craniofacial Diversity in Tanganyikan Cichlids”

Ariel Jasmine Mosley, Undergraduate, Psychology
Gender Discrepancies of Social Facilitation

Marisa A. Smith, Undergraduate, Criminal Justice
“’I Was Just Thinking Out Loud:’ Social Networking Sites and the Expectation of Privacy”

Derrick Fesler, Graduate, Public Policy and Administration
“Evaluating Traffic Congestion Mitigation Strategies”

Lillian Fua Jaquinod, Graduate, Chemistry
“Analysis of Fatty Acids Using High-Performance Liquid Chromatography with Charged Aerosol Detection”

Liz Redford, Graduate, Psychology
“Causes, Reasons, and Intent: Integrating Attribution and Social Inference”




We would also like to acknowledge the following faculty who served as judges for the Symposium:


Undergraduate Panel

Estelle Eke, Mechanical Engineering
Greg Kim-Ju, Psychology
Cid Martinez, Sociology
Hakan Ozcelik, Management
George I. Paganelis, Tsakopoulos Hellenic Collection, University Library
Catherine Turrill, Art


Graduate Panel

Manuel Barajas, Sociology/Serna Center
Keith Bohm, Music
Lisa M. Bohon, Psychology
Serge Lee, Social Work
Deidre Sessoms, FYE/Education
Dongmei Zhou, Mechanical Engineering