News & Information

Distinguished Service Award recipients



Sacramento State has selected five alumni and one honorary alumna to receive this year’s Distinguished Service Award. The awards will be presented at a dinner ceremony April 14 in the Alumni Center. A reception and silent action begins at 5:30 p.m., with dinner at 7. Tickets are available at RSVP by Monday, April 4.

 The 2011 recipients:

 Thomas Gilbert, (MBA ’80), founder, managing shareholder and litigation and valuation services director for Gilbert Associates, Inc.

 Paul Lau (’84), assistant general manager of Customer, Distribution and Technology at SMUD.

 Ted Puntillo (’72), deputy secretary of Veterans Services for the State of California.

 Tina Treis (’80), a partner in Perry-Smith, LLP.

 Patricia Clark-Ellis, dean emerita for the College of Health and Human Services.

 Krista Bernasconi (’99), director of Public Affairs for SureWest.

 The awards, presented annually since 1972, are given annually by the University and the Alumni Association to alumni and friends of the University for outstanding contributions to the campus and community.

Previous winners include: Rene Syler, former CBS News co-anchor of The Early Show; Dale Carlsen, founder of Sleep Train; Fred Teichert, executive director of the Teichert Foundation; Roger Valine, former president and CEO, Vision Service Plan; and artist and painter Wayne Thiebaud.

For more information, visit For media assistance, contact Public Affairs at (916) 278-6156.