News & Information

California Journalism Awards seek submissions


Printer-friendly version

The deadline for submissions for the 18th annual California Journalism Awards and the Katharine M. Macdonald Award, originally July 31, has been extended to Aug. 10. The event is sponsored by Sacramento State’s Center for California Studies and the Sacramento Press Club.

j awards

All entries must have been published or broadcast in California between Jan. 1, 2011, and June 1, 2012, and be postmarked no later than Aug. 10. Judges will be distinguished active and retired journalists and academics.

The awards, established in 1994, recognize excellence in reporting on California state government, policy or issues. Awards will be given in the following categories: daily coverage, special feature or enterprise reporting, blog, radio, television and photojournalism.

A cash prize of $500 will accompany each award. The Katharine M. Macdonald Award, which includes a cash prize of $300, will be presented to a student journalist.

The awards reception and presentations will be at the Sacramento Convention Center on Thursday, Sept. 13, at a time to be determined.

For more information about the event: For media assistance, contact Sacramento State’s Public Affairs office at (916) 278-6156.

– Alan Miller