Bylaws of the Faculty Senate

Article II. Offices of the Faculty Senate

A. Executive Offices

1. Chair

The Chair of the Faculty Senate shall be elected annually by and from the voting representatives of electing units. Policy Committee Chairs who are not also representatives of electing units may neither serve as nor vote for chair. The Chair shall preside at meetings of the Faculty Senate. The term of office of the Chair shall be one year. The term shall begin at noon on the last day of the spring semester in which he/she is elected Chair and shall end at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the following year. The Chair may be re-elected.

2. Vice Chair

The Vice Chair shall be elected annually by and from the voting representatives of electing units. Committee chairs who are not also representatives of electing units may neither serve as nor vote for Vice Chair. In the absence of the Chair, the Vice Chair shall preside at meetings of the Faculty Senate, and perform other duties of the Chair as delegated by the Chair. The term of office of the Vice Chair shall be one year. The term shall begin at noon on the last day of the spring semester in which he/she is elected Vice Chair and shall end at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the following year. The Vice Chair may be reelected.

B. Other Elected Offices

1. Standing Policy Committee Chairs

Each standing Policy Committee Chair, as specified in the standing Policy Committee's Charge, shall be elected annually by the Faculty Senate from among the full-time faculty of the University. Each standing Policy Committee Chair shall preside over his or her standing Policy Committee and shall also serve as an *ex-officio* non-voting member of the Faculty Senate and an *ex-officio* voting member of its Executive Committee. The term of office of a standing Policy Committee Chair shall be one year. The term shall begin at noon on the last day of the spring semester in which he/she is elected Chair of the standing Policy Committee and shall end at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the following year. A faculty member may be elected to serve up to three (3) consecutive terms of one year each as the Chair of a standing Policy Committee. After an interval of a year following the end of the third consecutive term, the faculty member shall become eligible for election to the Chair of a standing Policy Committee.

2. Members of the Executive Committee

In addition to the Chair and Vice Chair of the Senate, who shall be voting members, and the Chairs of certain standing Policy Committees as specified in the standing Policies Committee's charge, who shall be *ex-officio* voting members, additional At-large voting members of the Executive Committee shall be elected annually by and from the electing unit representatives to maintain the Executive Committee membership at eleven (11). The At-large elected members of the Executive Committee shall serve for a term of one year, beginning at noon on the last day of the spring semester in which they are elected to the Executive Committee and ending at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the following year. At-large Executive Committee members shall be eligible for re-election so long as they remain electing unit representatives.