Human Subjects Guidelines

The department-level human subjects committee is meant to facilitate the protection of human research subjects, the University and faculty, as well as student researchers. The policy of the University is that any research or related activity involving human subjects must be reviewed by a Committee for the Projection of Human Subjects. To review University CPHS policies, especially in regards to issues of risk, please visit their web page. The University CPHS answers your frequently asked questions about human subjects research. 

What studies need to be reviewed? The short answer is that all research involving human subjects (including Master's Theses and course-based research in which students interact with participants outside of the course) should be reviewed. When in doubt, fill out the form below! However, research conducted by students within an established CSUS course and in which the only participants are other students in the same course does not need to be reviewed. Similarly, research in which the students in a course observe the public behavior of others but do not interact with them also does not need review. It is the responsibility of the course instructor to be sure that appropriate research procedures are followed. 

The departmental-level human subjects committee must examine all proposals for in-class teaching projects and student research. The committee can approve "exempt" proposals, but any higher level of risk must be forwarded to the university-level CPHS after departmental review. To review University CPHS policies, especially in regards to issues of risk, please visit their web page.

CSUS Sociology Department Human Subjects Committee
Proposal Submission Deadlines
Academic Year 2014 - 2015
Sociology Department Deadline CSUS Committee Deadline
Monday, August 18, 2014 at 5:00pm
Monday, September 22, 2014 at 5:00pm
Monday, October 20, 2014 at 5:00pm
Monday, November 10, 2014 at 5:00pm
Monday, January 19, 2015 at 5:00pm
Monday, February 16, 2015 at 5:00pm
Monday, March 23, 2015 at 5:00pm
Monday, April 13, 2015 at 5:00pm
Tuesday, September 2, 2014 at 12pm
Monday, October 6, 2014 at 12pm
Monday, November 3, 2014 at 12pm
Monday, November 24, 2014 at 12pm
Monday, February 2, 2015 at 12pm
Monday, March 2, 2015 at 12pm
Monday, April 6, 2015 at 12pm
Monday, April 27, 2015 at 12pm
NOTE: Neither committee meets or reviews proposals in the summer.
Human Subjects Committee Chair: Charlie Varano (cvarano@csus.edu)
Committee Members: Todd Migiliaccio, Aya Kimura Ida

Directions:

Students must complete the official CPHS form:  CPHS Form.

Be certain to answer every question completely.