2017 Recognition Program

Staff Peer to Peer Awards

The Staff Peer to Peer Awards portion of ABA's recognition program allows ABA staff to recognize the work of their colleagues. Awards are presented in the following categories: Customer Service, Problem Solver, Teamwork, Positive Attitude, Professionalism, and Innovation.

Awardees are recommended to the vice president by a selection team, many of them 2016 award recipients. This year's selection team included:

  • Susan Colley-Monk - Risk Management Services
  • Elena Compo - Administrative Services
  • Anastasia Herrera-Tan - Financial Services
  • Dorthea Johnson - Facilities Management
  • Shannon McDonald - Facilities Management
  • Jeffrey Reinl - University Police
  • Andrew Stiffler - Administrative Services

2017 Staff Peer to Peer Award Recipients:


Steve Bolton

Positive Attitude

Michael Gill


Brian Kojima

Problem Solver

John Linke

Customer Service

Gertrude Lofing

Positive Attitude

Gavril Sacardi


Elvin Saldivar

2017 Staff Peer Award Nominees:

Customer Service: Mel Ardelean, Brittini Collins, Maria Gonzalez, Trudy Lofing, Joey Lum, Keith Olocki, Katie Ragle. Positive Attitude: Nina Delgado, Michael Gill, David Prudencio, Gavril Sarcadi. Teamwork: Dale Knorr, Brian Kojima, Karen Massey. Professionalism: Steve Bolton, Valentino Castillo. Innovation: Kristina Cullen, Elvin Saldivar. Problem Solver: Jorge Chavez, Jeffrey Dierking, Kim Holmberg, John Linke, Chris Marolla, Nicole Rogers, Meuy Saechao

Leadership Peer Awards

Valued Staff

ABA's Valued Staff award recognizes a staff professional who contribute to the success of ABA initiatives; demonstrated values of leadership, teamwork, ethics and integrity; and/or excel in the provision of quality of service or productivity. Award recipient is nominated by Management Council members within their families.

Dale Clack

Brian Geimer

Chris Marolla

Jeffrey Reinl

Not Pictured: Raul Echeverria


Team Awards recognize teams for accomplishing a common assignment, project, process or service improvement made towards ABA and University goals. This year we recognized three teams:

Drinking Water Quality Improvement Team

Recipients: Daryn Ockey, Michael Hendren, Steve Leland, Donald Stirewalt, Tim Arkebauer, Michael Kramer, Mark Leisz, Doug Power, Kimberly Donaville-Davis, Graig Dutton

Accounts Payable Team

Recipients: Dede Brooks-Moore, Natalya Sysa, Dolores Ortiz, Tia Varner, Denise Morgan, Pang Xiong-Moua, Loc Vu

Reprographics and Mail Services Team
Recipients: Laura Lockett, Brian Geimer, Julin Chum, Michael Garden, Ken Armstrong, Rocke Bauhofer, Jackson Susanka, Helen Hamlett, Randy Davis, Steve Bolton, Christopher Ponder, Michael Pughsley

Leadership Peer to Peer

Leadership Peer to Peer Awards recognize an ABA Management Council member who is esteemed by their colleagues for contributions to ABA or University goals, service, teamwork, innovation, process improvement, advancement, communication, or the development of a model practice.


Ryan Todd


Not Pictured: Margaret Hwang