

Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture Committee Standing Rules

The Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture Committee is a subcommittee of the Faculty Senate Faculty Policies Committee, responsible for the administration of the John C. Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture award.

In the selection of the Livingston Lecturer, the Committee emphasizes the criteria identified in the description of the award below.

The John C. Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture celebrates the academic life and legacy of the late John C. Livingston, Professor of Government. Professor Livingston, a distinguished member of the faculty for 27 years (1954-1981), was a well-respected faculty member on campus. His colleagues, who established this award in his honor, believed he provided an important conscience for the faculty and was preeminently a person of strong moral convictions. This award dates back to 1959 when the first Distinguished Faculty Convocation Address was given by Prof. Livingston. In 1985 the Faculty Convocation was renamed in his honor. In 2004 Prof. Livingston was further honored on campus as a posthumous inductee into the College of Social Sciences and Interdisciplinary Studies' Academy of Distinction and Honor.

The criteria used in the selection of the Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture award recipient reflect the character and principles of its namesake. Prof. Livingston is remembered as a teacher, mentor, scholar, colleague, friend, and inspiration to a generation of faculty and students. Recipients of this award are recognized for having transcended their disciplines and in so doing having positively affected the life of the University through their teaching, their service, or their creative and scholarly activities--displaying a consistent and engaging collegiality and a strong commitment to students throughout their careers at California State University, Sacramento.

In the selection of the Livingston Lecturer, the Committee emphasizes a continuing commitment to the principles so tenaciously espoused by Professor Livingston. The person to be selected should meet the following criteria. A faculty member who has played an active role in the life of the University, who has displayed a consistent collegiality, and who has shown a strong commitment to students while (*AS 91-68*) maintaining an active participation in creative and scholarly activities

Charge

- A. Administers the John C. Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture award.
- B. Recommends procedures relating to the award.
- C. Prepares and presents an annual report to the Faculty Senate.

Membership

A. Voting Members

Five-faculty members appointed by the Faculty Senate. No more than two members may be from a single college and no two members may be from the same department/unit. Every effort shall be made to distribute membership among the colleges.

B. Non-Voting/Ex-Officio Members

- 1. One liaison from, and appointed by, the Faculty Policies Committee; and
- 2. The Faculty Senate Chair.

Additional ex-officio membership may be recommended by the subcommittee, the Faculty Policies Committee, the Executive Committee, or the President or designee.

C. Term

- 1. The term of appointment for faculty representatives shall be for two years, with the possibility of reappointment. Appointments will be staggered to ensure that approximately one-half of the faculty members are appointed each year; and
- 2. The term of the non-voting / ex-officio members will be one-year.

Officers

A. Chair

- 1. The Chair shall be elected from and be among the voting members of the Committee.
- 2. The term of office of the Chair shall be one year. The term shall begin at noon on the last day of the spring semester in which elected and shall end at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the following year.
- 3. A faculty member may be elected to serve up to three consecutive terms of one year each as the Committee Chair. After an interval of a year following the end of the third consecutive term, the faculty member shall become eligible again for election to the Chair of the Committee.
- 4. The Chair is responsible for establishing the agenda for each meeting.

B. Vice Chair

- 1. At its first meeting of the academic year, the Committee shall elect from its voting members a Vice-Chair.
- 2. The term of office of the Vice-Chair shall be one academic year. The term shall begin upon election of the Vice-Chair at the first committee meeting of the year and shall end at noon on the last day of the spring semester of the academic year.
- 3. The Vice-Chair shall preside over the routine business of the Committee in the absence of the Committee Chair or should the office of the Committee Chair become vacant, until the election of a new Committee Chair.

Operations

- A. The Committee shall be a subcommittee of, and report to, the Faculty Policies Committee.
- B. Issues addressed by the Committee may be referred to the Faculty Policies Committee and/or the Executive Committee.
- C. Any of the Standing Policy Committees of the Faculty Senate may refer issues to the Committee either through the Faculty Policies Committee or the Executive Committee.

Committee Meetings

- A. The Committee shall meet monthly or as needed at a designated time and place.
- B. Committee meetings shall be open except for award deliberations, at which time the meetings will be closed.
- C. The meeting agenda shall be distributed and supporting documentation provided to the Committee at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.
- D. Committee agendas will be published and made accessible to the campus community at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.
- E. To be a constituted committee/subcommittee (able to officially conduct business) the majority (more than 50%) of the seats must be filled (non-vacant).
- F. A quorum for all committees/subcommittees exist only if a majority (more than 50%) of the filed seats of the voting membership are present.

Adoption of Standing Rules

- FS 19/20-34/EX: Quorum Senate adoption October 3, 2019
- FS 14/15-91/LL/EX: Adopted February 5, 2015
- AS 96-09-/LLC/EX: Adopted February 15, 1996
- AS 86-29/EX: Adopted April 23, 1986