Based on real user feedback and statistics, no longer supports Microsoft’s Internet Explorer browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

California State University, Sacramento

Skip to Main Content

Faculty Senate

California State University, Sacramento

Support Page Content

Lectures, Awards & Scholarships

Assigned Time for Exceptional Levels of Service to Students Awards

The 2014-2017 Collective Bargaining Agreement between the California Faculty Association and the Board of Trustees of the California State University (CSU), which has been extended through June 2020, designates the awarding of assigned time (in the form of weighted teaching units, WTUs) to all Unit 3 faculty employees “who are engaged in exceptional levels of service that support the CSU’s priorities, but who are not otherwise receiving an adjustment in workload to reflect their effort.”  Awards are designated for workload beyond the requirements of regular faculty assignments in enhancing the student learning environment.

The Exceptional Assigned Time Subcommittee is responsible for the administration of the award.

Outstanding Faculty Awards

The Outstanding Faculty Awards, established by the Academic Senate in 1992, are presented in recognition of the importace of teaching and the role of the faculty in the shared governance of our University to commend the superior acomplishments of faculty, and to acknowledge our sense of community and faculty commitment to excellence in the life of our University and community.

Recipients of these awards are recognized for having positively affeced the life of the University through their teaching, service, or scholarly and creative activities, displaying a consistent and engaging collegility and strong commitment to studnets throughout heir carees at California State University, Sacramento.  

The Faculty Senate announces the call for awards each fall.  Each College selects a maximum of a single award in the categories of Outstanding Teaching, University Service, Community Service, and Scholarly and Creative Activity and reports the award winners to the Faculty Senate.  An award ceremony is held each spring for recognition of award recipients.

Wang Family Excellence Award

The Wang Family Excellence Award recognizes and celebrates those CSU faculty members who, through extraordinalry committment and dedication, have distinguished themselves by exemplary contributions and achievements in ther academic disciplines, while having a discernable effect on students. The CSU Academic Senate distributes to campuses the call for nominatins.  The Wang Family Excellence Award Subcommittee oversees the nomination process for campus and forward recommendations to the President.  The CSU Academic Senate announces the award receipents in November with a formal presentation at the Janaury Board of Trustee meeting.


John C. Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture

The John C. Livingston Distinguished Faculty Lecture has long been considered one of the most prestigious awards given to a member of the Sacramento State faculty.  This award recognizes a sustained and unique contribution to the campus community in providing intellectual leadership and has important significance to the life of this university. This award dates back to 1959 when John C. Livingston, a professor in the government department from 1954 to 1982, gave the first Distinguished Faculty Convocation Address.  In 1985 the Faculty Convocation was renamed in Professor Livingston’s honor. The faculty member is selected each fall to deliver the lecture during the spring semester at a convocation held in his or her honor. The lecture traditionally is on a topic chosen by the Livingston Lecturer that is of general interest to the university community.  The Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture Committee is responsible for the administarion of the John C. Livingston Annual Faculty Lecture Award.  The call for nominations is distributed each fall by the Facutly Senate Office.


Faculty Endowment for Student Scholarships Awards

The Faculty Endowment for Student Scholarships Awards recognize academic achievement and promise of continued academic success, service and contributions to the student’s major department, college, the university and/or the community at-large, and articulation of future educational/career goals. Awards equal to the cost of registratin fees for spring semester are made each year to studnets from funds generated from annual contributins by faculty and funds generated from the Faculty Endowment for Student Scholarships and Faurot Endowment Funds.  Invitatins are sent each fall to qualified applicants who have maintained an excellent GPA both overall and in their major.  Scholarship recipents are selected by the Faculty Endowment for Student Scholarships Committee and recognized at an awards ceremony at a Faculty Senate meeting.