

2020-2021 AY

FACULTY SENATE Meeting Agenda

October 8, 2020, 3:00 – 5:00 pm

Zoom Meeting ID: https://csus.zoom.us/j/99183389135

(Updated: 10/8/20)

Faculty Senate Meetings – Zoom Housekeeping Reminders

CALL TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

OPEN FORUM

INFORMATION ITEMS

From the Chair
 Outstanding Faculty Awards
 2021 Wang Family Excellence Awards

- From the President
- From the Provost
- From the Vice President of Student Affairs Dr. Ed Mills
 - Students 2-Step Verification with Duo
 - Enrollment Update Fall 2020
- FYI:
 - <u>Document provided by Senator Jennifer Noble, Criminal Justice,</u>
 <u>re: Antiracism and Inclusive Campus Plan</u>
 - Document provided by Professor Ghassan, Shobaki, Computer Science,
 re: Emergency Policies and Procedures Webcams

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

CONSENT CALENDAR – CONSENT ACTION

Program Proposal - New Program

FS 20/21-27/CS/EX Program Proposal - ECS

Introductory Supplementary Authorization in Computer Science

The Faculty Senate recommends approval of the Introductory Supplementary Authorization in Computer Science Program.

Program Proposal - Discontinued Program

FS 20/21-28/CS/EX Program Proposal – A&L

Subject Matter Program (English/Theatre)

The Faculty Senate recommends approval of the discontinuation of the Subject Matter Program (English/Theatre)..

Non-Senate University Committees

FS 20/21-29/EX Non-Senate University Committee - Faculty Representatives Anchor University Advisory Council

The Faculty Senate recommends appointment of the following faculty to serve as Faculty Representatives on the Anchor University Advisory Council.

- Molly Dugan, Communication Studies (A&L)
- Adrian Dilworth, Athletics
- Hakan Ozcelik, Management & Organizations (CBA)
- Janet Hecsh, Undergraduate Studies in Education (COE)
- James Mearns, Electrical & Electronic Engineering (ECS)
- Samantha Blackburn, Nursing (HHS)
- James Fox, Library
- Sayonita Ghosh Hajra, Mathematics & Statistics (NSM)
- Erin Rose Ellison, Psychology (SSIS)

FS 20/21-30/EX Non-Senate University Committee - Faculty Representative Web Content Advisory Group

The Faculty Senate recommends appointment of the following faculty member to serve as a Faculty Representative on the Web Content Advisory Group.

Sadaf Ashtari, Information Systems & Business Analytics (CBA)

FS 20/21-31/EX Non-Senate University Committee Diversity Awards Committee

The Faculty Senate recommends appointment of the following faculty members to serve on the Diversity Awards Committee.

- Yvette Farmer, Criminal Justice (HHS) Term: Fall 2020 through Spring 2022
- Kikuko Omori, Communication Studies (A&L) Term: Fall 2020 through Spring 2022

Administrative Search Committees

FS 20/21-32/EX Administrative Search Committee – Faculty Representative Bias Response Director Search Committee

The Faculty Senate recommends appointment of the following faculty member to serve on the Bias Response Director Search Committee.

Elvia Ramirez, Ethnic Studies (SSIS)

The Faculty Senate recommends approval of the following faculty members to serve as an alternate representative, if the faculty representative needs to step down from the Search Committee.

- Nicole Fox, Criminal Justice (HHS)
- Samantha Blackburn, Nursing (HHS)

FS 20/21-33/EX Administrative Search Committee – Faculty Representative Executive Director for the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (Carlsen Center)

The Faculty Senate recommends appointment of the following faculty members to serve on the Executive Director for the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship (Carlsen Center) Search Committee.

- Cheng Hong, Communication Studies (A&L)
- John Forrest, Design (A&L)
- Ryan Fuller, Management & Organizations (CBA)

The Faculty Senate recommends approval of the following faculty members to serve as an alternate representative, if one of the faculty representatives need to step down from the Search Committee.

- Mary Breunig, Recreation, Parks and Tourism Administration (HHS)
- Min Li, Information Systems & Business Analytics (CBA)

Faculty Senate Committee

FS 20/21-34/EX Senate Committee Appointment Curriculum Subcommittee

The Faculty Senate approve the appointment of the following faculty members to serve on the Curriculum Subcommittee.

- Rachel Miller, Art (A&L) Term: Fall 2020 through Spring 2022
- Tyra Ping Shao, Management & Organizations (CBA) Term: Fall 2020 through Spring 2022
- Denise Wall Parilo, Nursing (HHS) Term: Fall 2020 through Spring 2022
- Jerome Buerki, Physics & Astronomy (NSM) Term: Fall 2020 through Spring 2022

MINUTES

FS 20/21-26/FL Minutes: September 24, 2020

The Faculty Senate approves the meeting minutes of September 24, 2020.

SECOND READING

FS 20/21-25/WG/EX Assigned time for Exceptional Levels of Service to Students Procedures, Amendment of FS 15/16-32/FPC/EX

The Faculty Senate recommends approval of the amendments to the Assigned Time for Exceptional Levels of Service to Students Procedures (FS 15/16-32/FPC/EX), effectively immediately upon approval by the President.

ADJOURNMENT