2012-13 FACULTY SENATE ACADEMIC POLICIES COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Approved: March 01, 2013

February 01, 2013

Members Present:	Bradley, Buckley, Downey, Escobar, Gonsier-Gerdin, Irwin, Judge, Migliaccio (Chair), Raskauskas, Schmidtlein, Van Gaasbeck
Members Absent:	Taylor
Guests:	Kristen Anderegg, Judy Dean, Dennis Geyer, Beth Merritt-Miller, Ed Mills, Kris Trigales, Jing Wang,

- 1. Call to Order: Called to order at 2:00 p.m.
- Open Forum: Buckley distributed the following handouts: 1) a 2013-14 Overview of Governor's Budget; 2) a resolution from the Academic Senate (AS-3103-13/APEP); and 3) an article from *New York Times* about College Degree. Committee briefly discussed the handouts.
- **3.** Agenda for February 01, 2013 The agenda was reordered. Agenda item #6 (Multiple Majors), was moved to #5. Agenda was approved as amended. MSC
- 4. Minutes December 07, 2012 Minutes were approved as distributed. MSC

5. Multiple Majors:

- The committee looked at the memorandum that was addressed to Faculty Senate Chair, Janet Hecsh from the Provost Gossett which recommended policy issues and questions for working group on majors.
- After discussion, the committee decided to email Migliaccio with their suggestions/concerns about the questions about the Sac State major policies. Migliaccio will get together with Buckley, Mills, and Van Gaasbeck to examine each question individually to see what data will be needed and see if it can be obtained.
- Discussion will continue at next meeting.

6. Pre-Majors:

- The committee briefly discussed the pre-major designation definitions. Mills volunteered to revise the current definitions to incorporate the committee concerns.
- Discussion of the proposed policy will continue at the next meeting.
- 7. Information Items: The items were not addresses due to adjournment.
 - Proposal on Unit Overload
 - CMS Questions

8.	Meeting Schedule for Spring 2013					
	February 1	March 1	April 5	May 3		
	February 15	March 15	April 19			

9. Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 3:37 pm.

Lana Sysa, Faculty Senate Staff