

Business Matters @ Sac State

Topic: AB 1887 Travel Ban - New state added - Effective: July 1, 2020

DATE: May 27, 2020

TO: Campus Business Partners, Deans, Associate Deans, Department Chairs,

Directors, and Managers

FROM: Daljit Khangura, Director, Accounts Payable & Travel

Accounts Payable & Travel (AP) would like to inform you of updates to the University Travel Policy and Procedures effective July 1, 2020.

An update to Assembly Bill 1887 (AB 1887) approved by Attorney General Xavier Becerra on June 22, 2020, added to Section 11139.8 of the Government Code relating to discrimination.

As a result of this updated law, as of **July 1**, **2020**, the CSU is restricted from requiring employees to travel to the additional state. Additionally, CSU is prohibited from approving state-funded or state-sponsored travel to those states.

Effective July 1, 2020, the bill added <u>Idaho</u> to the prohibited state list. This will be the 12th state where state-funded or state-sponsored travel is prohibited.

All states under the travel restrictions:

Alabama	Idaho	Iowa	Kansas
Kentucky	Mississippi	North Carolina	Oklahoma
South Carolina	South Dakota	Tennessee	Texas

The updates reflect the changes to the CSU system wide travel policy and procedures. Travel procedures on the AP website have been updated.

Exceptions to the travel prohibitions may be granted (https://oag.ca.gov/ab1887). Travelers are required to document any exceptions on their travel authorization and/or travel expense documentation.

Please be aware University Paid Travel credit cards are <u>NOT ALLOWED</u> to be used for any travel to a banned state or for any travel being reimbursed through Foundation funds.

Contact Information:

If you have any questions or concerns about this notice, please contact Accounts Payable & Travel, sacstatetravel@csus.edu, ext. 86476.