Based on real user feedback and statistics, no longer supports Microsoft’s Internet Explorer browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

California State University, Sacramento

Skip to Main Content

Department of Chemistry

College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Support Page Content

Linda Roberts received a Fulbright Scholar Award to conduct research in Sweden in 2019

Dr. Linda Roberts has received a Fulbright Scholar Award to conduct research in Sweden in 2019. She will be working with Dr. Jens Lagerstedt in the Department of Medical Protein Science at Lund University in Lund, Sweden.

Roberts Linda picture


Dr. Roberts studies the structure and properties of apolipoprotein A-I (apoA-I), the major protein component of high density lipoprotein (HDL).  ApoA-I has been associated with lowered risk for heart disease but under certain conditions, or through mutation, can acquire an abnormal structure known as amyloid.  Amyloid apoA-I deposits in different tissues in the body and contributes to atherosclerotic plaque.  The mechanisms underlying amyloid formation and deposition are unknown.  Dr. Roberts’ Fulbright award supports research to examine amyloid formation using a variety of tools to explore structures of intermediates along the pathway.

Dr. Roberts previously collaborated with Dr. Lagerstedt, Dr. John Voss in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine at UC Davis, and Dr. Michael Oda at Children’s Hospital Oakland Research Institute to conduct the first exploration of the structure of amyloid variants of human apoA-I.  A number of Sacramento State students have been involved in this research, including Silvia Hilt who worked with Dr. Roberts as an undergraduate research student.  SIlvia received her PhD in Dr. Voss’ lab last year and is currently working there as an NIH post-doctoral fellow.  Dr. Roberts has mentored nearly 100 students in apoA-I research at Sacramento State since 1995 and is a two-time recipient of the Science Education Equity Outstanding Research Mentor award.  She is also the recipient of the first NIH R-15 (AREA) grant awarded to Sacramento State, which she received in 2003.