## COLLEGE OF NATURAL SCIENCES AND MATHEMATICS ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 12, 2023 TSC 5004

*Present:* Lisa Hammersley, Tom Krabacher, Ron Coleman, Craig Timmons, Julie Griffin, Richard Aguirre, Alex Pettitt, Shannon Datwyler, Zainab Ghani, Justin Miller-Schulze, Michael Wright, Erica Orcutt.

Meeting called to order at 9:15am.

- 1. Election of Academic Council 2023-24 Chair
  - Michael Wright was nominated Msc
- 2. Approval of the agenda as amended Msc
- 3. Approval of the minutes from May 2, 2023 Msc
- 4. Announcements:

Lisa Hammersley

- Introduction of reps. The student rep, Zainab Ghani, is also the NSM ASI Director.
- The NSM Research Symposium is Oct. 23 in the ballroom. Any student, including graduate students, may present a poster. Please try to get printing requests in early since the college ITC's are short on student help this semester.

Richard Aguirre

- The CSMS Open House is scheduled for 9/25.
- 5. NSM RTP policy
  - The changes to the NSM RTP document, which were approved by the college last year, are in review at the UARTP level and they reached out to Lisa over the summer with questions. The original plan was to look at how many files there were to review each year then use that to determine how many committees would be needed. This was confusing for UARTP so Lisa took language from other colleges policies and changed it to just two committees; one who will only do retention reviews that Associate or full Professors can serve on and one that can do tenure, promotion or retention reviews that only full Professors can serve on. There will be a call for nominations to all faculty in the college and the election will be ran in a way so that faculty know which committee they are electing the nominees to. There will be five members on each committee with no more than two from the same department. If a committee drops to below five, an ad hoc election may be run but the committee can continue to work with a minimum of three members. Each level of review (P2, P3, tenure/promotion, etc.) must be reviewed by the same committee members to ensure continuity. Each committee will have a chair who submits the letters to the Dean. UARTP gave a deadline of Oct. 2 to get the newly revised RTP policy to them so Academic Council will upload it to Teams for a final review to be done by the end of the week then a 10-day college-wide election will take place.
- 6. Committee Report for DEI committee
  - Last year the newly formed DEI committee worked on setting up goals and priorities which included retaining diverse faculty and staff, increasing student success and fostering a sense of belonging. The committee proposed to the Chairs that each

department host an informal event over the 23/24 AY (3 per semester) to promote inclusivity and is open to anyone in the college. Chemistry will host an Ice Cream social, geography is planning a trivia night, and Lisa will be hosting an informal pre-tenure mixer at her house in October. The committee has also scheduled a speaker who is an expert in DEI to come give a talk and host workshops on Nov. 30.

- 7. Selection of DEI reps
  - Three of the reps on the NSM DEI committee have terms ending. A call for nominations went out and four nominations with statements of interest were submitted (Joshua Wiscons-math, Jasmine Arpagian-Geog, Santosh Kandel-math, Joya Mukerji-bio). The committee selected Jasmine Arpagian-Geog, Santosh Kandel-math, Joya Mukerji-bio.
    Msc

10:30am adjourn