COLLEGE OF NATURAL SCIENCES AND MATHEMATICS ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES May 2, 2023

The meeting was held via Zoom.

Present: Lisa Hammersley, Tom Krabacher, Ron Coleman, Craig Timmons, Julie Griffin, Richard Aguirre, Chris Taylor, Alex Pettitt, Yinfa Ma, Joya Mukerji, Shannon Datwyler

Meeting called to order at 9:00am.

- 1. Approval of the agenda as amended Msc
- 2. Approval of the minutes from April 18, 2023 Msc
- 3. Announcements:

Lisa Hammersley

- Commencement will be Sunday May 21 at 8:30am. Doors open at 7:30am. Amy Macias-Stowe will send out emails with more information and instructions. Faculty are encouraged to attend and must have a name badge which can be picked up from the Dean's office. Enter on L Street and must show a valid ID. NSM could use two more Marshalls.
- Weekly emails about upcoming events will be sent out on Friday's. If anyone has an event they'd like included send to Amy Macias-Stowe.

Yinfa Ma

- This is the last Academic Council meeting before Yinfa's retirement. Tomorrow there will be a retirement reception at 4-6pm in the Union restaurant.
- This Friday at 4-6pm is the NSM Awards and Scholarship reception in the Union Cottonwood suite.
- May 17 at 5-8pm is the Master's Hooding ceremony in the Union Pacific suite.

Shannon Datwyler

- More protected writing times will be offered in the Dean's conference room.
- Ron asked Shannon what the orientation numbers are looking like. ITE is currently above what was anticipated. FTES was down last year by about 5% following the downward trend in other departments and the JC's. Graduation rates have been increasing.

Joya Mukerji

• Michael Wright will return as the biology department rep next year and Joya will be stepping down.

Ron Coleman

- The Make, Create Share event in the Maker Space in the Library was a success. It will be a semesterly event going forward.
- At the Student Research Competition in San Diego, Sac State won two 1st place and four 2nd place awards which is the best the campus has ever done.
- 4. Committee Reports
 - CRC (Tom Krabacher): Mikkel Jensen is the CRC Chair for 22/23 AY and is currently on sabbatical in spring 2023 so Tom Krabacher is covering. CRC is responsible for reviewing new program and course proposals as well as course change proposals. They review the

form A's and B's to ensure they are correct and complete before they move to university level approval as well as monitoring any resource implications. The committee met 9 times and may meet once more next week. They reviewed 22 course proposals (Bio-5, Chem-2, Geog-3, Geol-1, Math-5, Phys-6) and 11 program proposals (Bio-5, Chem-2, Geog-3, Geol-0, Math-0, Phys-1).

- Awards and Scholarship Committee (Julie Griffin): This committee reviews all nominations for all scholarships and awards in NSM and submits recommendations to the Dean for the recipients. The Chair was Claudia Lucero. The committee met once in the fall for the Outstanding Faculty Awards and one challenge they faced was that many of the faculty on the committee were nominated for an award and had to recuse themselves from certain categories. In the spring they met to determine the NSM Dean's Award recipient and the committee would like to remind Chairs to please include in the nomination letter the nominees background, extracurriculars and future aspirations. The NSM scholarship recipients were also determined for four scholarships (Shukle-9 applicants, Bulf-7 applicants, Smithson-11 applicants, Bruner-3 applicants).
- Secondary Committee (Ron Coleman): The Secondary Committee reviews the RTP files after the Primary Committees then sends their recommendations on to the Dean. The committee members were Ron Coleman, Tracy Hamilton, Tom Krabacher, Linda Roberts and Vera Margoniner. There were 29 files reviewed most of which were pre-tenure with 5 for tenure and 3 for promotion to Professor. Next year the committee will have a similar workload but the committee is short one member so they are looking for one more person to serve to fill the committee. Faculty Senate is still reviewing the changes to the NSM RTP document so next year there will still be just one committee reviewing all files.
- Safety Committee (Shannon Datwyler): The Safety Committee Chair is Brittany • Anderson-Steele who is currently on leave. The committee meets monthly during the academic year; 4 times in fall and 3 times in spring. The committee is charged with looking at college-wide and implementation of university-wide safety policies and practices. In the first meeting the committee set two goals for the year: 1.) work on a draft bio safety manual that was developed by biology faculty in preparation for the university implementing an institutional bio safety committee in OREID which is a federal requirement. The new bio safety manual should be approved for college use some time next year. 2.) discussions about 100% return after the pandemic. Last spring there were several safety incidents in labs and those numbers have come down this year. Generator testing knocked down the HVAC in TSC causing a delay in the fume hoods coming back on so the committee is working with Facilities and EH&S to address this issue. Going forward the committee is going to continue working on developing additional standard operating procedures and training documents for the college as well as approaches to reducing hazardous waste.
- 5. Recommendations for next year Academic Council
 - The working group to develop a graduate student award will continue to work to get that implemented.
 - Next year's Academic Council meetings modality. The committee decided to meet inperson next AY and the meeting start time will move back to 9:15am. **Msc**