COLLEGE OF NATURAL SCIENCES AND MATHEMATICS ACADEMIC COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES May 10, 2022

The meeting was held via Zoom.

Present: Tom Krabacher, Ron Coleman, Tom Savage, Katie Ardill, Craig Timmons, Richard Aguirre, Lisa Hammersley, Shannon Datwyler, Yinfa Ma, Michael Wright, Kacey Sozzi, Mikkel Jensen, Brittany Anderson-Steele.

Meeting called to order at 9:15am.

- 1. Motion to approve the agenda. Msc
- 2. Motion to approve the minutes as amended from Apr. 26, 2022 Msc
- 3. Announcements:

Lisa Hammersley

- Spring 2022 wrap up:
 - The NSM Hooding Ceremony will be next Wednesday at 5pm in the Alumni Center.
 - Commencement is next Friday at the G1 Center.
- Lead NSM ITC, Matt Young, is out on a prolonged partial leave so there may be longer waits for IT related requests.

Shannon Datwyler

• Stacy Lindley in the Advising Center is graduating with her Master's in Counseling this semester. There will be a celebration gathering in the Dean's Conference room next Wednesday at 11am-2pm.

Ron Coleman

- The CSU Student Research competition was held virtually, hosted by SF State. Sac State had two 1st place and two 2nd place winners.
- The required computer updates have been failing to load for some users. If anyone experiences these issues reach out to Ron.

Tom Krabacher

• The Geography Department Poster-palooza event is next Tues. 4pm at the Alumni Center. Senior seminar students will present their research projects along with the Geography Cartography students. Food and drinks will be served, all are welcome to attend.

Action items

- 4. Committee Reports
 - CRC Report, Mikkel Jensen, CRC Chair
 - $\circ\,$ The committee met 11 times over the 21-22 AY
 - 29 course change/new course proposals reviewed
 - a. 13 new course proposals (4 geog, 1 geol, 4 math, 4 NSM)

- b. 15 course change proposals (10 bio, 5 geog)
- c. 1 course discontinuation (bio)
- \circ 11 program change/new program proposals.
 - a. 10 program change proposals (mostly changes to the BA/BS in bio to reflect the removal of pre-major and changes to MS bio stem cell)
- Secondary Committee Report, Ron Coleman, Chair
 - \circ Reviewed 26 files for pre-tenure review, 5 files for tenure and promotion to Associate Professor
 - Proposal to change the NSM RTP policy review committee formation still being reviewed by University RTP committee. Changes will not be in place for next years review but hopefully the year after.
- Safety Committee, Brittany Anderson-Steele
 - \circ Met once a month during fall and spring
 - Focus moved away from COVID safety to drafting guidance documents to better serve the college on chemical spills, biological spills, disposal of chemical waste and disposal of biological and medical waste.
 - Due to some recurring safety issues regarding chemical spills, the chemical spill guidance document was pushed forward and was approved to also include chemical incidents. It should be ready for summer 2022 research.
 - Spring meetings focused on bio safety. The committee voted to create bio safety taskforce tasked with creating a bio safety manual for the college to be presented and voted on for approval by the end of fall 2022.
- Scholarship and Awards Committee, Mikkel Jensen
 - This is a newly formed committee tasked with reviewing the 6 department student nominees for the Deans award and makes the recommendation to the Dean, reviews and determines all department nominees for the outstanding faculty awards, and reviews and determines all student applicants (30) for the college scholarships in Academic Works.
 - Prior to the formation of this committee the CRC reviewed all the scholarship applications and there was an ad hoc committee for the faculty awards. The workload for the new committee is appropriate with tasks spaced out over the year.
- 5. Michael Ray from Physics and Cindy Kellen-Yuen from Chemistry both have terms ending as faculty reps on the NSM safety committee. Physics would like Michael to continue as the rep. Chemistry has not put forward a name for the new rep, they will let Academic Council know by the first meeting in the fall. Amy Bright was the administrative staff and she left campus, Bee Chacon nominated to serve. Liane Phe's term is ending as a technical staff rep, Doug Whited nominated to serve. Motion to accept candidate nominated. <u>msc</u>

9:45am adjourn