# COLLEGE OF NATURAL SCIENCES AND MATHEMATICS ACADEMIC COUNCIL

# MEETING MINUTES February 21, 2023

The meeting was held via Zoom.

**Present:** Lisa Hammersley, Tom Krabacher, Ron Coleman, Tom Savage, Craig Timmons, Yinfa Ma, Julie Griffin, Richard Aguirre, Joya Mukerji, Alex Pettitt, Shannon Datwyler.

Meeting called to order at 9:00am.

- 1. Approval of the agenda Msc
- 2. Approval of the minutes from February 7, 2023 Msc
- 3. Announcements:

## Lisa Hammersley

- Enrollment is down across all CSUs and on some campuses, it is down significantly so a
  new budget model is coming that will give more funding to campuses that are at or
  close to the enrollment target and less to campuses below target. Sacramento State is
  still at target enrollment. There will be more focus on efforts to increase enrollment.
- Field trips to the Planetarium are back to full capacity.
- There are six faculty searches in NSM this year, two of which are completed with both having their top candidate choice accept. The Provost will be asking for hiring requests for next year which is expected to be more conservative than this year so the focus will be in areas where the need is greatest.
- There will be a retirement celebration for Yinfa on May 3 at 4-6pm in the Union restaurant.

## Shannon Datwyler

- Thank you to everyone who participated in NSM-fest. The event was a success even
  though student participation was down from last year. The prizes have been distributed
  and there are a lot left over which will be used to incentivize students to go to the NSM
  Advising Center for advising.
- Shannon and Yinfa met yesterday with the student reps for NSMJC and the ASI NSM rep about the possibility of having them sell the NSM bags, tumblers and t-shirts for fundraising.

#### Yinfa Ma

- The announcement was sent out about the D3 event which will be held on April 26 at 5-7pm at the Alumni Center. The D3 event is for faculty from NSM and ECS to present their research in an effort to enhance collaborations across the colleges. There will be food and drinks. Faculty are encouraged to present but all are invited to attend. If anyone needs a poster printed it can be uploaded to the website and ECS will print.
- The Master's Hooding Ceremony is May 17 at 5-8pm in Union Pacific Suite
- The NSM Awards and Scholarship Ceremony is May 5 at 4-6pm in the Union. Student Scholarship recipients, outstanding faculty awards and the outstanding staff award are recognized.

- The Senate Faculty awards ceremony is March 9.
- SURE applications deadline is Monday March 6 at 5pm.
  - Joya asked if the deadline can be moved to a day other than the spring symposium.
    - The deadline will be extended to March 13 at 5pm.
  - o Craig has had Jr faculty asking what the expectation is for the SURE projects.
    - A research poster at the symposium is the ultimate goal to present data from the summer research project along with a one-page summary and a reflection statement. The overall goal is to give students an opportunity to experience research; it does not need to be new or publishable research.

#### Ron Coleman

 The CSUS student research competition is coming up on March 6. Participation is down overall but a majority of the students presenting are from NSM. The schedule is still being finalized.

#### Michelle Williams

- There haven't been very many nominations for the staff awards. The nominations
  deadline is March 3. Reminders will be sent out. Lisa reminded everyone that the
  nomination statements are all the selection committee has to go off of so please make
  them as detailed as possible.
- 4. Associate Dean Search Committee Selection
  - For MPP searches, the search committee will consist of four full-time, tenure-track faculty from the college selected by the Academic Council; one student; one staff; and up to four more members selected by the Dean, one of which must be faculty and one must be a Chair.
    - Faculty for the Academic Council to choose from include: Sayonita Ghosh Hajra (Math), Justin Miller-Schulze (Chemistry), Tim Davidson (Biology), Anna Patterson (Geography), and Coskun Cetin (Math).
      - a. Sayonita Ghosh Hajra (Math), Justin Miller-Schulze (Chemistry), Tim Davidson (Biology), and Anna Patterson (Geography) were selected. <u>Msc</u>
    - o The student rep will be the ASI NSM Director, Jadie Beltran
    - Matt Young and Stacy Lindley were staff nominees
    - o The Chair rep will be Susan Crawford
- 5. Spring Faculty Mentorship Program Development
  - A newer faculty member approached Lisa recently asking if the college had or was planning to form some sort of faculty mentoring program for new faculty. Departments already provide informal mentorship to help new faculty learn the practices and policies specific to their department but there is interest in forming a formal mentorship program at the college level. There are many different models to consider so Lisa asked the Academic Council if it should be taken on as a committee task or if a working group should be formed. Alex started in Physics 2 years ago and agrees a mentorship program would be more useful than the 4-day faculty orientation which covers so much information before faculty even begin working that it is challenging to retain it all. Tom S. asked about including mentorship model for incoming lecturers. Lisa is reviving the Jr. faculty social mixer and inviting new faculty and their family to her home for a social

gathering. A working group will be formed and will report back with possible models after spring break; Tom S., Julie and Alex will serve on the working group. All Academic Council reps will request feedback from their department and report back at the next meeting for the working group to consider. The working group will report back with possible models after spring break. Joya suggested utilizing some of the supplemental resources available from a National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity membership; Lisa will pitch to the Provost that Academic Affairs support membership for all faculty.

10:00am adjourn