California State University, Sacramento

Based on real user feedback and statistics, csus.edu no longer supports Microsoft’s Internet Explorer browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Skip to Main Content

Department of Women's Studies College of Social Sciences & Interdisciplinary Studies

About Womens Studies

ATTENTION

Due to COVID 19 restrictions the Department of Women’s Studies will be operating remotely. Please contact the office at (916) 278-6817 between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., and by email at womensstudies@csus.edu. The department chair Dr. Sujatha Moni can be reached at smoni@csus.edu. She is available via Zoom on Tuesdays & Thursdays from 12 p.m. to 2 p.m. and by appointment. Please email her to set up a meeting.

Program Overview

One of the oldest feminist academic programs in the country, Sacramento State's department of Women’s Studies is dedicated to studying about women, gender, and sexuality. We work towards facilitating progressive political activism, and fostering community participation.

The Women’s Studies Program provides students with an interdisciplinary model of the study of women’s contributions to culture, knowledge, and society, and the role gender and sexuality play in relation to other social and economic forces such as racism, ethnocentrism, capitalism, and militarism. Students have opportunities to examine women’s diverse experiences—locally, nationally and globally—within feminist and social justice frameworks.

Explore Our Degree Opportunities

Fall 2020 Faculty

Sujatha Moni-Department Chair- Classes:WOMS 110 and WOMS 121 Email: smoni@csus.edu

Tristan Josephson- Classes: WOMS 50-01 and WOMS 150 Email: tristan.josephson@csus.edu

Cara Jones- Classes: WOMS 133-01 and WOMS 133-02 Email: cara.jones@csus.edu

Rita Cameron Wedding- Classes: WOMS 137-01 and WOMS 137-02 Email: cameronwedding@csus.edu

Vicki Hall- Classes: WOMS 120 and WOMS 145-01/94 Email: hallva@csus.edu

Elizabeth Mukiibi- Classes: WOMS 136-01, WOMS 136-02 and WOMS 138 email: emukiibi@csus.edu

Johnnie Terry- Classes: WOMS 50-02 Email: johnnie.terry@csus.edu

Sohnya Castorena-Classes: WOMS 115 email: s.castorena@csus.edu

Advising & Retention

Visit the EAB student support site and select your advisor to schedule an appointment.

Career Options

  • Education: University Professors, University Staff, K-12 teachers, curriculum specialists, Department of Education
  • Paid Organizer: Labor Unions and organizations such as the Feminist Majority or the National Organization of Women
  • Writer/ Researcher on women’s issues
  • Non-profit agencies with an emphasis on social issues
  • Human Resources
  • Law
  • Medicine/Women’s Health
  • Consultant on Women’s Issues: Political campaigns and legislative aides.
  • International Development: Non-governmental organizations
  • Career Development: Career Development consultant and trainer, job developer.

Campus Services

Find Us

Department of Women's Studies
Amador Hall, Room 561
Monday - Friday, 8 a.m–4:30 p.m.

Contact Us

Phone: (916) 278-6817
womensstudies@csus.edu

Meet Us