Third Annual Fall Ethics Symposium 2008

Personal and Professional Integrity in Business

This year the symposium has been organized by:
CRC, Dr. Rick Schubert, 2008 Symposium Executive Director
CSUS, Dr. Russell DiSilvestro, 2008 Symposium Director

The Symposium was a full day event, Monday, October 20th, 2008, held at Sacramento State University in the Hinde Auditorium of the University Union. The following is an abbreviated version of the program with links to the relevant segments of the digital video recording of the event.

The digital videos are in .mp4 format and best viewed in RealPlayer. Approximate times are indicated in parentheses.

Monday, October 20th , 2008

8:30-9:00 a.m. Reception, Redwood Room (Light refreshments served.)
9:00-9:30 Opening Remarks, Hinde Auditorium 
Dr. Christina M. Bellon, Director, Center for Practical and Professional Ethics 
Dr. Joseph Sheley, Provost, Sacramento State University
Dr. Francisco Rodriguez, President, Cosumnes River College
Dr. Rick Schubert, Symposium Executive Director, Cosumnes River College, Philosophy Dept 

9:30-10:50 a.m. Keynote Address 
Dr. Edwin Hartman, Stern School of Business, New York University
"Aristotle on Character and Integrity"

11:00-11:50 a.m. Session I
Dr. Hakan Ozcelik and Dr. Amy Mickel, College of Business, Sacramento State University
"When Executives Get Angry: The Importance of Anger and Its Triggers to Ethical Awareness and Sensitivity"

12:00-1:20 p.m. Lunch Break

1:30-2:45 p.m. Session II
Dr. Kimberly D. Elsbach, Graduate School of Management, University of California, Davis 
"Images of Strong Leadership: Possibilities and Pitfalls"

3:00-4:15 p.m. Session III
Rebekah Donaldson, President, Business Communications Group, LLC 
"The New Rules of Business Communications -- business ethics and the rise of business blogs"

4:30-5:15 p.m. Closing Roundtable Discussion 
Presenters participate in an informal roundtable session to connect important issues raised during the day. The audience will have the opportunity to direct questions to all the presenters.