California State University, Sacramento Sacramento State Leader

President Nelsen, Professor Miller honored by CSU students

CSSA awardsSacramento State President Robert S. Nelsen and Communication Studies Professor Christine Miller have been honored by the California State Student Association (CSSA), furthering the University’s reputation for fostering student success and faculty excellence in the CSU system.

The CSSA named Nelsen the CSU president of the year and Miller the faculty member of the year in the Innovation category. The announcement was made May 25 at the California State University Board of Trustees meeting.

Nelsen took the helm at Sac State on July 1, 2015. Among his accomplishments in his first year: He hired a “graduation czar” to improve graduation rates; he set in motion the creation of an Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion to further enhance the campus’s welcoming culture; and he won approval for the construction of a much-needed $91 million science building.

Miller was the recipient of Sac State’s prestigious John C. Livingston Award for the 2015-16 academic year. She has been with the Department of Communication Studies for almost 30 years, during which time she has served as vice chair of the CSU Statewide Academic Senate and has received an Outstanding University Service Award.
More →

More News from Sac State

Interim provost honored by APF for academic leadership

House members, CEOs talk innovation on campus

New student leadership team sworn in

Sac State honored for helping transfer students

ICYMI: Enjoy the new Made at Sac State Magazine

Featured Photos

video button
Mascots bring CSU spirit to Capitol

Distributed every Tuesday by the Sacramento State Office of Public Affairs and Advocacy | (916) 278-6156
6000 J Street, Sacramento, California 95819
facebook logo twitter logo instagram logo youtube logo flickr logo

subscribe | unsubscribe