Return to Sac State Torchlight

Distinguished Alumni Awards

DAA Ceremony Awards

President Nelsen (back row, center) welcomes seven alumni honorees at this year’s awards dinner: Distinguished Service Award recipients (front row, from left) Angelo Williams, MA ’06, ’07, EdD ’10, Carol Garcia ’80, Gilbert Herdt MA ’72, (back row, from left), Kraig Clark ’91, Kimo Ah Yun ’90, Andrei Tokmakoff ’89 and Rising Star Award recipient Ryan Harrison, MS ’11.


Alumni Association President Bruce Hohenhaus ’76 provides introductory remarks at the annual celebration of alumni achievement.

Alumni Open House

Alumni Open House

Erick and Angela ’06, MSW ’08 Fusilier sample offerings from the Alumni Center’s preferred caterers.

Alumni Open House

Ronn Gonzales ’15 and Amit Sarang ’15 join in the festivities at the Leslie and Anita Harper Alumni Center.

President’s Medal for Distinguished Service Reception

Garry Maisel

President’s Medal honoree Garry Maisel ’80 addresses guests at a reception at the Julia Morgan House.

President’s Community Council Breakfast

President Community Council

President Nelsen moderates a roundtable discussion about programs funded by the President’s Circle giving society featuring (from left) Danielle Munoz of the Student Emergency Grant Fund, Paul Orozco, team captain of the Hornet Hyperloop project, Jake Eres, ASI Food Pantry coordinator, and James Murphy, a student who went to Sweden as part of Study Abroad.

Faculty Senate Scholarship Reception

Faculty Senate Scholarship Awards

Scholarship recipients pose with faculty at this year’s awards presentation.

Hornet Politics and Policy Alumni Chapter Mixer


Voter engagement was the topic of the HPPA Chapter’s Alumni Month ‘What’s Possible?’ event.

Provost Ching-Hua Wang Welcome Reception

Dr. Ching-Hua Wang  Reception

Tina Treis ’80, Tracy Latino-Newman ’87, DeDe Cordell ’97, Provost Ching-Hua Wang, Pam Herman ’83, Krista Bernasconi ’99 and Holly Tiche ’89 come together at a Placer County reception for Wang.

Mattos Golf Tournament

Mattos Golf

(From left) Lance Buscaglia ’86, Cecil Williams ’86, Mike Sullivan, Doug Mattos ’88, Football Head Coach Jody Sears, Greg Knapp ’86 and Mike Black ’85 get ready to tee off at the annual Mattos Golf Tournament.

Return to Sac State Torchlight