Scholarships and prizes

The History Department offers several scholarships and awards for undergraduate history majors and graduate students. Students must be enrolled at CSUS during the Fall and Spring semesters of the academic year in which they apply in order to receive funding.

Download the paper application for specific applications requirements and deadlines. Most applications and papers should be submitted to the History Department office in Tahoe 3080 by April 4, 2016.  One exception to this rule is the Kenneth H.W. Earle Award, which is due by October 31, 2016.

For a list of recent recipients, see Student Awards.

Undergraduate Student Scholarships and Awards

  • The McGowan Prize (application) is the History Department’s oldest and most venerable award. It provides around $200 for the best paper written by an undergraduate major.
  • The Peter H. Shattuck Undergraduate Scholarship (application) provides two scholarships of approximately $5000 each for undergraduate majors.
  • The Department of History Undergraduate Scholarship (application) is one scholarship of approximately $2000 for undergraduate majors. Please use the Shattuck Scholarship application.
  • Senator Nicholas C. Petris Scholarship (application) is for students studying Hellenic Studies. Award amounts vary and applications are submitted to the Hellenic Studies Program through the History Department.

Graduate Student Scholarships and Awards

  • The George and Eleanor Craft Graduate Scholarship (application) provides about $2000 each to two classified history graduate students. Recipients are normally in their second year.
  • The Faculty Graduate Writing Prize in History (application) provides about $250 in prize money for the two best papers written by history graduate students in their programs. Recipients would normally be in their second year.
  • The Kenneth N. Owens Award for Excellence in Public History (application) for currently enrolled Public History graduate student who has completed 15 hours of PH coursework. One page written statement of Public History accomplishments (with supporting documents). Award is approximately $500.
  • The Kenneth H.W. Earle Graduate Fellowship in History (application) provides about $1000 to a graduate student in either the Public History or standard History program for research on some aspect of California History. 
  • The Lawrence A. Brooks Memorial Graduate Conference Scholarship (not offered 2016-2017) has up to $200 for participation at an academic conference. Rolling deadline so please inquire with the history department chair.
  • The George Bramson Award for Historic Preservation (application) is for graduate student achievement in historic preservation. Award is approximately $1,000 every year.

Other scholarships

See the CSUS scholarship list. Note that the James William Whitsell Scholarship gives preference to History majors.

James Madison Graduate Fellowship: for students who are currently a grade 7-12 teacher or who plan on becoming one.