Scholarships and Awards

The History Department offers several scholarships and awards for undergraduate history majors .  Students must be enrolled at Sacramento State during both the Fall and Spring semesters of the academic year in which they apply in order to receive funding.

Download the paper application for specific requirements and deadlines.  Most applications and papers should be submitted to the History Department office in Tahoe 3080 by April 13, 2018.  For a list of recent recipients, see the Student Awards section.

Undergraduate Student Scholarships and Awards

Other Scholarships

Please see the California State University - Sacramento Scholarship List for other opportunities that may be available.  Sacramento State has gone to a great deal of effort to connect students with applicable scholarships.  Please note that some of the Sacramento State scholarships give preference to History majors, such as the James William Whitsell Memorial Scholarship.  

Student Awards - 2018-19 Academic Year

Kenneth Owens Scholarship, $500
  • Matthew Walker 
Faculty Graduate Writing Prize, $250
  • Spencer Gomez 
Kenneth H.W. Earle Graduate Fellowship, $1,000
  • Moriah Ulinskas 
George & Eleanor Craft Graduate Scholarship, $2,000 each
  • Moriah Ulinskas 
  • Sung Kim 
  • Skylar Ensbury 
Professor Thomas Swift History Scholarship, $3,000
  • Casandra Solomon 
Undergraduate Scholarship in History, $2,000
  • Benjamin Swinford 
Peter H. Shattuck Scholarship, $7,000 each
  • William Kyle Floyd
  • Cristina Purice 
Joseph A. McGowan Undergraduate Writing Prize
  • William Kyle Floyd
  • Corinne Hansen
Senator Nicholas C. Petris Scholarship, $1500 each
  • Angela Newsome 
  • Lillian St. Clair