Top header graphic with link to CSUS Home Page california state university, sacramento
Header Graphic
sac state homeuniversity affairspublic affairs

   search CSUS

   main news page

media resources graphic
   news releases
   news and events

   fact & stats
   experts guide
   news by e-mail
   contact news
     services staff

publications graphic
   Capital University

   CSUS Bulletin
   CSUS Catalog
   Viewbook (pdf)
   How-to Guide (pdf)

calendars graphic
   events this month
   search events

people graphic

   new faces
   in the news

   in memoriam

additional news graphic
   Capital Public Radio
   alumni association
   crime alerts
   CSU system
   CSU campuses

visitors resources graphic
   ceremonies and     
     visitor relations

   CSUS ticket office
   campus directory
   campus tours

contact us graphic
   news services
     staff directory

   submit news
     & events



February 18, 2003

Top journalists honored at event

California’s outstanding political and public affairs journalists will be honored at the ninth annual California Journalism Awards, Tuesday, February 25, at the Radisson Hotel in Sacramento. The awards dinner is hosted by the Center for California Studies at California State University, Sacramento and the Sacramento Press Club.

In what promises to be a lively debate and a highlight of the evening, Bob Mulholland, California Democratic Party, and Debra J. Saunders, San Francisco Chronicle political columnist, will argue their political viewpoints. Both participants are known for their acerbic wit and political insight.
Awards will be presented to:

Kimberly Kinday, Jennifer B. McKim, Natalya Shulyakovskaya, and Tony Saavedra of The Orange County Register, who will receive the John Jacobs Award for print special feature reporting, for their year-long investigation of childcare homes and centers.

Carla Marinucci and Lance Williams of the San Francisco Chronicle, who will receive the John Jacobs Award for daily print coverage, for their reporting on the 2002 governor’s race.

Ina Jaffe, of National Public Radio’s Morning Edition, for excellence in radio reporting for “Ten Years after the Riots: The Decline of Black Political Power in Los Angeles.”

Randy Shandobil, KTVU Fox 2 in San Francisco/Oakland; Robbi Peele, Joe Riordan, Hank Plante, and Rick Villaroman, KPIX TV-CBS in San Francisco, for excellence in television reporting.

Jon Ortiz, CSUS student and former intern at the Los Angeles Times Sacramento bureau, for excellence in student journalism, for his article on Proposition 51’s diversion of auto sales taxes.

The cost to attend the dinner and debate is $50 single, $90 double, and $35 for students. Reservations must be made by Feb. 20. There is no cost for students wanting to attend the debate only, at 8 p.m.

For more information, contact the Center for California Studies at (916) 278-6906. For media assistance contact the CSUS public affairs office at (916) 278-6156.


Bottom bar graphic back to top

California State University, Sacramento • Public Affairs
6000 J Street • Sacramento, CA 95819-6026 • (916) 278-6156 •