Return to Public Affairs Main Page
Media Resources
Visitor Services
Contact Us
Return to CSUS Homepage  
Public Affairs   
(916) 278-6156 
Win Free Tickets

February 26, 2002

CSUS to honor distinguished alumni

California State University, Sacramento will recognize an exceptional group of alumni for their community and business leadership at the 16th annual Distinguished Service Awards Banquet on Thursday, March 14 in the Steven Lee Yamshon Alumni Center.

The event begins at 6:45 p.m. with a reception. Dinner is at 7:30 p.m. KFBK anchor and CSUS alumnus Kitty O'Neal will emcee.

This year's Honorary Alumnus Award will be presented to Roy Brophy, a developer and advocate for higher education.

The Distinguished Faculty Award will be given to Felicenne Ramey, dean of the CSUS College of Business Administration and also a CSUS alumnus.

Receiving Distinguished Service Awards this year are: Christopher Cabaldon, city councilman and former mayor of West Sacramento; Dale Carlsen, president and CEO of Sleep Train; Richard Johns, director of parks and recreation in Santa Barbara; Suzanne Kingsbury, presiding judge of the El Dorado County Superior Court; William Lee, president and publisher of The Observer newspaper; Mary Louise Mack, principal of Carson Creek High School; Fred Teichert, executive director of the Teichert Foundation; Gil Moore, president of New West Petroleum; Robert Perry-Smith, managing partner of Perry-Smith LLP; and John Shaw, president and CEO of Mercy Foundation.

Tickets to the awards dinner are $75 per person and $600 for a table. Reservations may be made by calling (916) 278-6295 by Tuesday, March 5.

More information is available from CSUS public affairs at (916) 278-6156.


For further information send E-Mail to or contact
Public Affairs (916) 278-6156.   
Index of Stories
Return to CSUS Home Page