Top header graphic with link to CSUS Home Page california state university, sacramento
Header Graphic
sac state homeuniversity affairspublic affairs
 Search Sacramento
 State website

  Sacramento State
  main news page

media resources graphic
   news releases
   news and events

   facts & stats
   experts guide
   image downloads
   news by e-mail
   contact news
     services staff

   submit news
     & events


publications graphic
   Sac State Magazine
   Sacramento State

   Sacramento State

calendars graphic
   events this month
   search events

additional news graphic
   Capital Public Radio
   alumni association
   crime alerts
   CSU Newsline

visitors resources graphic
   visitor relations
   Sacramento State
     ticket office

   campus directory
   campus tours

Capital University News, California State University, Sacramento

September 23, 2004

Recipients of 10th annual California
Journalism Awards announced

The Center for California Studies at California State University, Sacramento and the Sacramento Press Club have announced the winners of the Tenth Annual California Journalism Awards. They will be presented at a luncheon on Friday, Oct. 1 at the Holiday Inn Capitol Plaza.

The awards recognize outstanding reporting on California public affairs and politics. Judging is by a distinguished panel of California journalists.

This year's awards ceremony will feature Holly Heyser, president of the National Association of State Capitol Reporters and Editors. There will also be a free drawing for a book featuring the work of the late Frank del Olmo, associate editor of the Los Angeles Times and the first Latino promoted to the Times' masthead of top editors. Del Olmo died in February at the age of 55.

Recipients of this year's awards are:

  • The John Jacobs Award for print special feature/enterprise reporting – Kimberly Kindy of the Orange County Register, who investigated the California Technology, Trade and Commerce Agency. Kindy showed that at least 31 times – on deals totaling $4.2 million – the state played little or no role in deals it claimed credit for. The agency was shuttered in December.
  • The John Jacobs Award for print daily coverage – James P. Sweeney of Copley News Service, who reported on Gov. Gray Davis' handling of Indian gaming and gambling in California.
  • For excellence in radio reportingIna Jaffe and Cathy Shaw of National Public Radio's "All Things Considered."
  • For excellence in television reporting – Randy Paige, Frank Snepp and Richard Alvarez of KCBS-TV.
  • The Katharine M. Macdonald Award for excellence in student journalism – Matt Ballinger of Orange Coast College, who wrote a piece on California's open meeting law.

The cost for the luncheon is $55 and $40 for students. Reservations must be made by Monday, Sept. 27. For more information, contact the Center for California Studies at (916) 278-6906. Additional media assistance is available from the Sacramento State public affairs office at (916) 278-6156.


California State University, Sacramento • Public Affairs
6000 J Street • Sacramento, CA 95819-6026 • (916) 278-6156 •
Bottom bar graphic back to top

California State University, Sacramento • Public Affairs
6000 J Street • Sacramento, CA 95819-6026 • (916) 278-6156 •